Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Jane by April Lindner

December 4, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the author’s website:
What if Jane Eyre fell in love with a rock star?
Forced to drop out of an esteemed East Coast college after the sudden death of her parents, Jane Moore takes a nanny job at Thornfield Park, the estate of Nico Rathburn, a world-famous rock star on the brink of a huge comeback. Practical and independent, Jane reluctantly becomes entranced by her magnetic and brooding employer and finds herself in the midst of a forbidden romance. But there’s a mystery at Thornfield, and Jane’s much-envied relationship with Nico is soon tested by an agonizing secret from his past. Torn between her feelings for Nico and his fateful secret, Jane must decide: Does being true to herself mean giving up on true love?

Soundtrack Song:
As I finished the last few pages of  Jane, “To You I Bestow” by Mundy popped into my head. The next morning it was still there and I spent a good deal of the day looking up various versions of the song. I became a woman obsessed. While I originally thought the recorded version fit the book so very well, I came across a bunch of acoustic live versions that just seem to fit the feel of Mr. Rathburn’s love for Jane so much better. SPOILER It actually sounds like what think the song he wrote for Jane would sound like END SPOILER.

I love the old-ish language used in it, which fits a book based on a classic. I mean, who uses the words “bestow” and “thine” in everyday conversation these days? While I think the whole song goes well with Jane, these lines are my most favourite: “And we roll in the foggy dew/ And dance with the ghosts upon the dawn.” And now take look at Jane‘s cover. Foggy dew and ghosts upon the dawn, all right.

The version I finally decided on for this post is just below, but because I had such a hard time figuring out which version to use, here’s also the original plus another awesome live acoustic version. Mundy really needs to record an acoustic version of this song.

Wait a minute now, I’ll see you when I come back
I could be sharing someone else’s pillow
My love for you is better than diamonds
To you, everything I bestow

And tomorrow, I’ll be dancin’ on my own
And I’ll need a kiss for my head that’s achin’
And I’ll be a hungry dog without a bone
I hope my place with you’s not taken

Kiss me and tell me it’s not broken
Kiss me and kiss me ’til I’m dead
‘Cause, I give you the stars from the bruised evening sky
And a crown of jewels for your head now
For your head now
It’s for your head now
It’s for your head now

One last night in bed for a time
And two more wishes and both are for thine
And three guesses, you’re the angel’s child
Four hopes that this love’s not spoiled

Kiss me and tell me it’s not broken
Kiss me and kiss me ’til I’m dead
See, I’ll give you the stars from the bruised evening sky
And a crown a jewels for your head now
For your head now
For your head now
For your head now

And if you come back, I’ll take you to the garden
We’ll dance to an orchestra on the lawn, to an orchestra on the lawn
And we roll in the foggy dew
And dance with the ghosts upon the dawn and on the dawn and on the dawn

Then you’ll kiss me and tell me it’s not broken
Kiss me and kiss me ’til I’m dead
‘Cause, I give you the stars from the bruised evening sky
And a crown of jewels for your head now

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 5:24 pm

    How do you come up with these great choices??? I haven’t read the book but as I was listening to the song and looking at the awesome cover it just works!! :D

Trackbacks

  1. Jane by April Lindner (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

