Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Pretties by Scott Westerfeld

November 27, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From publisher *contains Uglies spoilers*:
Tally has finally become ‘pretty’.
Her looks are beyond perfect, her clothes are cool, her boyfriend’s gorgeous, and she’s completely popular. It’s everything she’s ever wanted.
But beneath all the fun — the nonstop parties, the high-tech luxury, the total freedom — is a nagging feeling that something’s wrong. Something important. And sure enough, when a message from Tally’s ‘ugly’ past arrives, the fun stops cold.
Now Tally has to choose between fighting to forget what she knows and fighting for her life…

Soundtrack Song:
When I started looking for a song to go with Pretties I almost immediately thought of “Serial Sleepers” by House of Heroes. The inhabitants of New Pretty Town are oblivious to the pretty-minded daydream state they’re in, which Tally and Zane are attempting to change. In doing so, they not only have to wake the Pretties in their clique from the daydream, they also have to make sure they themselves stay awake.

Wake the dead.
Serial sleepers slay with words unsaid.

Save our souls from all our dreams come true.

Soundtrack Saturday: Uglies

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 2:25 pm

    i always enjoy this post and love the music/book connection. i’m reading a book called ‘bumped’ now and don’t have enough of a handle on it to name a song to go with it. i am listening to pandora as i surf the book blogs, though. does that count? :) hope you had a nice turkey day!

    • November 28, 2010 8:34 pm

      Thanks Nat! I’ve heard of Bumped – it does sound like a hard book to pick a song for.

  2. November 30, 2010 10:35 pm

    Great choice for this book! I love this series :)

    I thought of this song for Pretties : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kL6DlOQIwaY

    “And I am a weapon of massive consumption
    And its not my fault it’s how I’m programmed to function
    I’ll look at the sun and I’ll look in the mirror
    I’m on the right track, yeah we’re on to a winner

    I don’t know what’s right and what’s real anymore
    And I don’t know how I’m meant to feel anymore
    And when do you think it will all become clear?
    ‘Cuz I’m being taken over by the Fear”

  3. December 3, 2010 3:44 pm

    Oooo fantastic choice. I love Pretties and this is very fitting.

  4. December 3, 2010 3:46 pm

    So you leaning on preferring David or Zane?

  5. December 3, 2010 4:21 pm

    *high five* I’m totally Team David too.

I <3 Comments

