Skip to content

Monday Round Up (11.22.10)

November 21, 2010


“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr (review to come, but I will say that I liked it lots and lots)

Currently Reading: After flying through Prayers For Sale and Once Was Lost, I felt like I was on a reading roll. So then I started On Agate Hill by Lee Smith, and oh dear, reading it was like wading through mud. I don’t know what happened, it’s a perfectly good book with an interesting narrator, so I probably just haven’t been in the right mood for it. Since I felt I was making zero progress there, I switched over to To The Nines by Janet Evanovich on Saturday. Nothing like a little Stephanie Plum to make me feel I’m back on track.

Up next: Since On Agate Hill is on hold indefinitely, I’ll likely pick up Pretties by Scott Westerfeld next.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 6:31 pm

    I need to catch up on the Stephanie Plum books…I have only read three of them, and they were not in any particular order.

    I also have one of her stand-alones on my stack waiting…

    Have a great week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

  2. November 21, 2010 6:49 pm

    I hate that when you are on a reading role and then suddenly you hit one that for whatever reason isnt doing it….. GAH!

    Cant wait to see your review of What Was Lost! Have a super week! :D

  3. November 21, 2010 7:08 pm

    Sounds like your On Agate Hill was like my Penhallow by Georgette Heyer. It was well-written, but it just seemed to go on for ages. Happy Weekend!

  4. November 21, 2010 7:10 pm

    Nothing like being on a roll and then wham, sigh.

    My Post

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/11/what-are-you-reading-monday.html

  5. November 21, 2010 8:44 pm

    I have had weeks liked this where mood just toss me right out of a book…

    Hope Plum’s work set you back on track….

    Pretties by Scott Westerfeld – I have heard good things, keeping fingers crss it works for you..

    E.H>

  6. November 21, 2010 9:01 pm

    I really need to get back to reading Evanovich’s works. Have a brilliant week reading. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/11/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-14.html

  7. November 21, 2010 10:14 pm

    The murky mud that occurs during a good reading streak is always a let down, but so glad to hear Evanovich picked things back up for you! I loved Once Was Lost!

    Have a fabulous reading week, a Happy Thanksgiving (if it applies ;o) ) and if you have a second take a look at what I’ve been reading at There’s A Book.

    • November 22, 2010 12:23 pm

      Canadian Thanksgiving was a month ago, so I’ll take this as a belated Happy Thanksgiving :) Thanks!

  8. November 21, 2010 11:41 pm

    I hate being on a roll and then having it screech to a halt. I hope you get your mojo back! :D

  9. November 22, 2010 12:35 am

    The best way to wade through the muddiness of a book is to switch to another one. Glad you made the switch. Hope this week finds you one hard ground. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  10. November 22, 2010 5:42 am

    I laughed at your post about how the book you’re reading is like wading through mud. I’ve been on a reading roll before as well only to get hung up on a slow book. I’ll have to pick up Once Was Lost since you enjoyed it so much. I’m reading Virals by Kathy Reichs and Fallen by Lauren Kate, both are kind of slow so far but still good. Have a great week!

  11. November 22, 2010 7:36 am

    I hate when something trips up my good reading streak! It’s always something surprising that does it for me too, and I have a hard time telling if it’s me or the book. Hope this week is better!

    My week is at:
    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=1943

  12. November 22, 2010 12:24 pm

    Love when I get on a reading roll. Good luck with it continuing .

  13. November 22, 2010 2:18 pm

    Your books sound like interesting choices! Drop by my blog for a look at my Christmas selections:)

  14. November 22, 2010 2:52 pm

    I so want to read The Uglies but I just never seem to get to it! Have a great week of reading :D

  15. November 22, 2010 6:08 pm

    Once Was Lost sounds like such a cute title!

  16. November 24, 2010 4:12 pm

    i just finished a book that i LOVED. it’s been so long since a book has captivated me like mudbound (hillary jordan) did. another blogger recommended it to me and i’m only sorry it took me so long to get to it.

    i’ve got a bunch of stuff to read but am doing laundry and getting ready for some holiday visiting. :)

I <3 Comments

