Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr

November 20, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the author’s website:
Samara Taylor used to believe in miracles. She used to believe in a lot of things. As a pastor’s kid, it’s hard not to buy in to the idea of the perfect family, a loving God, and amazing grace. But lately, Sam has a lot of reason to doubt. Her mother lands in rehab after a DUI and her father seems more interested in his congregation than his family. When a young girl in her small town is kidnapped, the local tragedy overlaps with Sam’s personal one, and the already-worn thread of faith holding her together begins to unravel.

Soundtrack Song:
I was about 10 pages into Once Was Lost when “Secret of the Easy Yolk” by Pedro The Lion came up on my ipod playlist. The song fit so perfectly I ended up listening to it over and over again as I read the rest of the book. It asks the same questions Sam struggles with throughout the book, with the hope of still wanting to believe at the end.

If this is only a test
I hope that I’m passing,
‘Cause I’m losing steam
And I still want to trust you.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 4:39 pm

    That is a cool song. So tell me can you listen to music and concentrate on your reading all at the same time??? I can’t!! :D

    • November 23, 2010 3:46 pm

      Yes, thankfully I can! But I listen to music while I do pretty much everything – working, eating, cleaning, sometimes even sleeping – so listing while reading is too much of a stretch :)

Trackbacks

  1. Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

