Skip to content

Wrapping Up October 2010

November 4, 2010

Oh man, October. You nearly knocked the wind out of me.

Both personally and professionally, October was one heck of a busy month. There were a lot of good things going on, like Thanksgiving, a friend’s wedding, and finally seeing fun. play. But work was so insanely busy. Probably the busiest I’ve been in … a year and a half? Ever? And then I spent pretty much every free moment watching Manor House (have you watched it? no?). So yeah, unfortunately there wasn’t much time or energy left over for blogging.

This week I feel like I’m catching my breath, recovering from a cold, and getting back into blogging, commenting, and tweeting. I also just started a new photo blog with my sister called City to Jungle, which I’m really excited about. I live in the city, she lives in the jungle (for reals) and we’re each going to post pictures of what are lives are like in each place.

I’ve also posted a page for the Characters with Disabilities reading list. I’ve already started reading books from the list (reviews to come!) and I can’t wait to read more. Thanks again to everyone who submitted recommendations.

What else am I looking forward to? Finishing We Have Always Lived in the Castle with the Classic Read Book Club (and catching up to where they’re at) because woah creepiness.

Anyway, let’s take a look at October’s reading.

Books Finished:
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
One, Two, Buckle My Shoe by Agatha Christie
The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness
*mini reviews for the last four can be found here: In Which I Play Catch Up

Favourite Book: That’s easy. The Knife of Never Letting Go, followed closely by The Ask and the Answer.

Least Favourite Book: The Heretic’s Daughter

Soundtrack Saturdays:
The Knife of Never Letting Go
Read-a-thon speical
Mockingjay
One, Two, Buckle My Shoe

Challenges:
Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge 6/15
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge
17/25

How was your October? What was your favourite book of the month?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 10:44 am

    It does look like you had a very busy month! It’s hard to find time blogging when there’s so much to do – especially if you’ve been sick on top of that. I do hope you’re feeling better now!

    I find your and your sister’s new blog to be such an interesting idea! I’m adding it to my feed reader :)

  2. November 4, 2010 1:32 pm

    OMG
    MANOR HOUSE!
    I never finished it but I remember LOVING it!

  3. November 4, 2010 2:22 pm

    kay – Thanks for the support on the photo blog. I’m really looking forward to seeing how it develops. I’m a little bit afraid that my sister’s jungle pictures will be a lot more interesting than mine ;)

    Juju – Manor House = pure (sometimes uncomfortable) awesomeness. I have one episode left, and I’m putting off watching it because I DON’T WANT IT TO END.

  4. November 4, 2010 6:13 pm

    Your month was filled to the brim!!! Honestly, would you want it any other way :D

    Have a great November!

  5. November 4, 2010 6:39 pm

    busy, busy! i’ve missed you. love the new blog–so clever!

  6. November 5, 2010 11:59 am

    Oh man, I feel you on the month of October! It’s hard to keep up with everything when there’s so much busyness going on. Hope you recover from your cold soon!

  7. November 6, 2010 9:07 am

    My October was also insanely busy. I read some great books, though. I think my favorites were Into the Dark by Peter Abrahams and The Search for Wondla by Tony Diterlizzi. Hope things quiet down for you a bit in November. I’ve had We Have Always Lived in the Castle on my to-read list for awhile. You might inspire me to actually read it!

  8. November 7, 2010 9:26 am

    It amazes me that October has already gone and we’re already over a quarter of the way through November. Time, please slow down!!

    The Knife of Never Letting Go is really high on my “must read soon” pile. I’m glad you really liked it!

    Hope you’re having a lovely Sunday.

  9. November 8, 2010 3:52 pm

    You sure did have a busy month! I know how that goes, although my October was surprisingly not too bad personally. I was able to get some reading done…I’m not doing so well this month so far though!

  10. November 8, 2010 4:29 pm

    Staci – Ha! Well, there might have been more busyness in October than I prefer ;)

    nat – Aw, thanks!

    wolfshowl – Seriously, what was with that month? And thanks – I think I’m finally feeling all better.

    Alissa – I haven’t heard of either of those books. I’ll have to do some research!

    Trish – I know, the last bit of 2010 is just flying by! I hope The Knife Of Never Letting Go moves up even higher in your TBR pile :)

    Jessica – I feel like I’m slacking off reading-wise in November, too. Then I remind myself that we’re only just over a week in – there’s still plenty of time left!

I <3 Comments

