Skip to content

Monday Round Up (10.18.10)

October 17, 2010

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. October’s host is Avis at She Reads and Reads.

One book arrived for me last week, another contest win. This one came from Deborah at Books, Movies, and Chinese Food.

I’m really looking forward to reading this one:

The World is Bigger Now by Euna Lee

For the first time, Euna Lee—the young wife, mother, and film editor detained in North Korea—tells a harrowing, but ultimately inspiring, story of survival and faith in one of the most isolated parts of the world.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (review to come…a bit behind on those at the moment)

Posted: Expanding My Reading Horizons – Some Recommendations (A list of books featuring characters with disabilities)

Currently Reading: One, Two, Buckle My Shoe by Agatha Christie (my very first Christie!)

Up next: Perhaps We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 8:38 pm

    Like your post about books featuring characters who have disabilities. I may pick up one or two of those myself.

  2. October 17, 2010 9:17 pm

    I am currently reading We Have Always Lived In A Castle…so far so good, but I am finding myself jumping around in my reading. Almost as if I cannot completely settle down with one book. So, I have several books going right now. Weird…so not my reading personality. :/

    I have yet to read a Christie book, but have been thinking that I ought to. I read Mockingjay, and yeah…my review done with my friend will be up soon…hopefully in a week or two. I am curious as to what you thought of it so I look forward to your review.

    Have a great week filled with much reading. :D

  3. October 17, 2010 9:24 pm

    WOO hoo for Mockingjay! I need to peek at your post for expanding your reading Horizons. :)

  4. October 18, 2010 1:06 am

    Definitely wondering how you liked Mockingjay, I also took a look a your post about featuring characters with disabilities and added another on for you to consider. Have a great week.

  5. October 18, 2010 3:56 am

    Desperately waiting for Mockingjay to come into the library for me! Number 25 on the list last time I looked!
    Check out my Monday here

    http://kyliesreads.blogspot.com/2010/10/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_18.html

  6. October 18, 2010 4:03 am

    I hope you enjoy the “mailbox book”!

  7. October 18, 2010 4:37 am

    That sounds like a great book! I hope you enjoy it!

  8. October 18, 2010 7:02 am

    Your first Christie – welcome to the world… Hope you enjoy..

    Looking forward to your thoughts on Mockingjay…

    :)

  9. October 18, 2010 8:03 am

    Hope you’re enjoying Agatha! My mailbox is at The Crowded Leaf.

  10. Beth(bookaholicmom) permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:20 am

    I just finished The Ling sister’s book about the Euna Lee and Laura Ling’s imprisonment. I have Euna Lee’s book also and hope to read it soon.

  11. October 18, 2010 8:49 am

    Ooh, I’ve been wanting to dive into an Agatha Christie book. Thanks for sharing…

    Here’s my Monday:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/monday-memes-mailbox-and-what-are-you-reading-oct-18/

  12. October 18, 2010 8:57 am

    I’ve got a copy of the Euna Lee book too and it looks so good!

  13. October 18, 2010 12:12 pm

    Happy reading!

  14. October 18, 2010 12:56 pm

    Agatha Christie is amazing! My favorite is And Then There Were None, but I’m never disappointed when I read her works. The BBC and PBS also do wonderful TV productions of her books if you are interested.

    Have a great week! :)

  15. She permalink
    October 18, 2010 3:05 pm

    I hope you love Agatha Christie! She’s definitely a gem.

  16. October 18, 2010 3:53 pm

    Hope you have a wonderful reading week! :)

  17. October 18, 2010 5:31 pm

    Christie is great and I’m going to be reading We’ve Always Lived in the Castle with Chris for his readalong…here’s the link in case you’re interested in joining

    http://www.dreamstuffbooks.com/blog/2010/09/30/come-read-we-have-always-lived-in-the-castle/comment-page-1/#comment-19817

  18. October 18, 2010 7:50 pm

    The Euna Lee book sounds interesting. I really enjoyed We Have Always Lived in the Castle!

  19. October 19, 2010 1:44 am

    Have a great reading week!

  20. justbookreading permalink
    October 19, 2010 9:55 am

    We Have Always Lived in the Castle is a great pick for October! Hope you enjoy it.

  21. October 20, 2010 6:15 pm

    I still haven’t started The Hunger Games yet…I really mean to, but so many things keep coming up! Can’t wait to see your review :)

  22. October 21, 2010 2:04 pm

    Looking forward to reviews…don’t think I have visited before. Hello.

    Stopping by from shereadsandreads.

    Stop by to see my mailbox if you like:

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

I <3 Comments

