Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

October 16, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. If you’d like to join in, please either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

Current Read: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

One Sentence Summary: The Hunger Games may be over, but there’s no rest for Katniss as the districts are officially at war with the Capitol and in need of a leader.

Soundtrack Song: “I Am The Killer” by Thursday, from the album Full Collapse.

Why I chose this song: Definitely heavier than most of the songs I pick, I think this song would go well with either Katniss or Peeta. What with the loss of reality, the nightmares, and distrusting everyone in general. But the last three lines of the song make me think more of Katniss. The matching uniforms of District 13 creates a sense of sameness, but Katniss feels set apart by the weight of thousands of deaths on her shoulders. Every move, every word seems to result in the torture or death of other people.

Tuesday wakes up silent
And there aren’t enough pills to sleep
And then it cuts out like miswired shortwave radio
It’s over
But nothing can change to ever make it right
When you live in a nightmare
It’s written all over your face.

And in a short time
You’re never the same again
The distance is streamlined
Between decision and defense:

Distorient the senses
Loss of identity
No one to trust

Life runs through this trade
I am no killer
But I still hide my face
In the coming days

I wake up every morning
From the same dream
And then I kill it
But you can’t change the letters when the ink dries
I woke up on the sidewalk and everything just changed
Now the lights are blinking but I can’t see anything

Everything is falling apart:
Crumpled paper
Crushed tin cans
Broken bottles
Paper scraps
We all look the same
We all look the same
But I am the killer

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2010 9:27 am

    I think this is great for Mockingjay. It was so much heavier than the first two books, and, like you said, I think this song could go with either Peeta or Katniss, though I would probably lean more towards Katniss. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Amanda LaValla permalink
    July 30, 2012 6:51 pm

    Hi Suzanne Collins, please do not think I am annoying for coming all the way down here just to ask this one question, but I am an 11 year old girl with the dream to be in the Mockingjay soundtrack. I have written, day and night, and have scratches 3-4 songs I would like to audition. I figured the more songs, the more likely I’ll make it…
    So anyways I was hoping you could just maybe respond to this comment or even just email me at alavalla@gmail.com. Thank you SO much. Oh, and I know you probably get this alot, but I am the BIGGEST Hunger Games fan in SC. I’ve wanted to tell you SO Much about my movie. I’m doing a movie of the Hunger Games, but with kids from ages 14-younger. We are making a movie based off the real movie and the books and actually premiering it in SC. Thanks again for listening to my comment and please let me know soon! LOVE THG!

    -Panda Bear-

I <3 Comments

