Skip to content

Fall 2010 Read-a-thon Updates

October 9, 2010

I’ll be updating this post throughout the day with my read-a-thon progress. My plan for the day looks like this:
* 7:00 am – read
* 11:30 am – go to wedding
* 2:30 pm – back home to read
* 4:30 pm – go to wedding reception
* sometime in the evening – back home to read

7:06 am
Reading: The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
Munching: Nothing yet, but thinking about it is starting to make me hungry.
Listening: Nothing but silence.

Books read: On the first one!
Total pages read: 0
Total reading time: let the reading begin!

8:45 am
Reading: The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
Munching: Strawberry shortcakes & coffee. MMMM!
Listening: Still silence.

Books read: On the first one!
Total pages read: 46
Total reading time: 1:17

10:39 am
Reading: The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
Munching: Cinnamon roll and more coffee. I love snack time.
Listening: Hmmm, I should finally turn my music on.

Books read: On the first one! But making good progress
Total pages read: 113
Total reading time: 2:57

12:12 pm
Reading: In between books
Munching: Stomach growing, about to have lunch
Listening: To my husband getting ready to go.

Books read: Finished The Heretic’s Daughter! Yay!
Total pages read: 130
Total reading time: 3:26

I’m off to the wedding, hoping to be back in a couple hours. Thanks so much to everyone who has stopped by to cheer me on!

2:52 pm
I’m back, and read-a-thon-ing all classy-like in my dress. Got about an hour before we need to leave again for the wedding reception, so it’s time to crack open Mockingjay!!

How’s your read-a-thon day going? If you’re not participating, how’s your Saturday going?

4:00 pm
Reading: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Munching: Nothing right now!
Listening: The rain falling outside. How is it that I haven’t listened to music today?

Books read: The Heretic’s Daughter
Total pages read: 173
Total reading time: 4:28

Just about time to leave for the wedding reception. I’m hoping to check in again when we get home tonight, but not – Have a great last half of the read-a-thon!

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 7:48 am

    I wish you well with your plan, and hope you have great fun at the wedding/reception. I will check back for your updates.
    Happy Reading!

  2. October 9, 2010 9:48 am

    Are you going to put the book in your purse – just in case the ceremony is delayed?

    • October 9, 2010 10:52 am

      Oh I so badly want to do that.

      Hmmmmm we’re not going to know many people at the wedding, so perhaps I could get away with it…. ;)

  3. October 9, 2010 10:51 am

    Reading in between the wedding and reception…I like this attitude! You’re committed! Enjoy your celebration and your reading today. And mmm that cinnamon bun looks delish!

    • October 9, 2010 10:54 am

      Thanks! That cinnamon bun disappeared far too quickly. I may have to have another one…

  4. October 9, 2010 11:04 am

    Those desserts look so good! Happy reading!

  5. softdrink permalink
    October 9, 2010 12:27 pm

    Readathon tip #418:
    Drink lots of water! Yes, it has side effects, but that just helps with…

    Readathon tip #27:
    Go for walks.

  6. October 9, 2010 5:27 pm

    Fun post to read…hope you’re having a blast at the wedding!!

  7. softdrink permalink
    October 9, 2010 7:07 pm

    The hour grows late
    My cheers are lame
    Hope you’re still reading
    And your eyes aren’t aflame!

  8. October 9, 2010 7:54 pm

    This cheerleader is getting tired and will be off to bed soon, but I wanted to say once again Happy Readathon and have a great night!

  9. October 9, 2010 9:40 pm

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of The Heretic’s Daughter!

  10. October 9, 2010 9:41 pm

    Oh, and have fun at the reception, too!

  11. October 9, 2010 9:48 pm

    She awoke to the sound of the bell ringing since she couldn’t read hearing that racket. Dazed, she must read more! Go, read, Go! You can read like you’re ringing a bell!

    I’ve never known any trouble than an hour’s reading didn’t assuage.
    ~ Charles de Secondat ~

  12. October 10, 2010 11:52 am

    You did great!!! I had Thanksgiving in the middle of my read-a-thon so I did as much as I could but it was a lot of fun! :)

  13. October 11, 2010 11:22 pm

    Those food photos are making me hungry! Looks like you had a great readathon!

I <3 Comments

