Skip to content

That’s it, I’m in.

October 8, 2010

The bi-annual Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon is tomorrow! And even though I’ll be gone most of Saturday, I have to join in! I just hafta.

My first read-a-thon was last Fall. I didn’t read, though, I participated as a cheerleader, and it was so much fun. So fun, in fact, that for the Spring read-a-thon this past April, I participated as a cheerleader, reader, and mini-challenge host. I’ll admit now that maybe that was a little bit too much fun.

This Fall I was disappointed to learn that the read-a-thon was to be held on the same day as the wedding for a good friend of my husband. But then I realized, the wedding won’t be all day. I mean, the read-a-thon starts at 5 am, and the wedding’s not until 1 pm. That’s so much reading time!

My plan is to wake up and start reading around 6:30-7ish (in the Spring I woke up before my alarm went off because I was SO EXCITED about reading day), and read until 11:30 am when I have to get ready for the wedding. Hopefully we’ll get home from the wedding reception around 10:30-11 pm, and I’ll continue reading until my eyelids drop. And maybe do some cheering. That’s not cramming too much into the day, is it?

As for what I’ll be reading, that’s not going to be a big list. I’m currently reading The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent. And by ‘reading’ I mean ‘slogging through’. So. I might put that one on hold and read Mockingjay instead. Seems fitting as I read The Hunger Games during last Fall’s read-a-thon.

I’m proof that it’s not too late to join in! For full event details, head over here: Dewey’s Read-a-Thon

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 9:52 am

    I am so pleased you are going to join in…

    I was going to pass as well – but when I looked at my pile of books I decided I cannot miss it…

    I’ll only be doing two books – but will be rooting for you…

    E.H>

  2. October 8, 2010 1:34 pm

    I’m passing this year but wish you luck!

  3. October 8, 2010 5:56 pm

    It’s all about fun…enjoy the wedding and the reading! :D

  4. October 8, 2010 6:20 pm

    I find that even when I seem to have too much time to read during the read-a-thon, it’s still more than I get on an average day, so I’m satisfied. What a great day planned–reading and a wedding!

Trackbacks

  1. Fall 2010 Read-a-thon Updates « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

