Skip to content

BBAW – Forgotten Treasure

September 15, 2010

Welcome to Day 4 of Book Blogger Appreciation Week! Thursday’s theme is Forgotten Treasure:

Sure we’ve all read about Freedom and Mockingjay but we likely have a book we wish would get more attention by book bloggers, whether it’s a forgotten classic or under marketed contemporary fiction.  This is your chance to tell the community why they should consider reading this book!

Shortly after BBAW 2009, I read Truman Capote’s novella Breakfast At Tiffany’s. I’m sure you’ve seen the movie, or at least the iconic image of Audrey Hepburn as Holly Golightly. I had seen the movie a couple years ago and liked it well enough, but as soon as I started reading the novella I was smitten. I watched the movie again shortly after and hated it because they whole feel of the story had been completely changed. The movie is a sweet, quirky love story, but the novella is more melancholic and nostalgic and definitely not a love story. The novella Holly would never have acted like movie Holly did at the end, and that was exactly what I loved about the original story. Of course I still pictured Holly as Audrey Hepburn, but there’s a depth and sadness to novella Holly that movie Holly didn’t seem to possess.

When I first read Breakfast at Tiffany’s I had borrowed a copy from the library, and wow was it hard to return that little guy. It wasn’t long before I had my very own copy and I’ve already pledged to reread it this Christmas break, under a warm blanket, sipping a big mug of hot chocolate.

You can read my review of the novella here: Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Edit: I’ve just thought of another that I loved but have never seen another blogger review. There A Petal Silently Falls by Ch’oe Yun is a novella and two short stories set in Korea. All three stories, but especially the title novella, are hauntingly beautiful that I took my sweet time reading them so I could savour them. I read it right at the end of 2009, and it was by far one of my favourite books of the year.

You can read my mini-review of it here: There A Petal Silently Falls

What’s your forgotten treasure?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 9:19 pm

    I’ve got BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’S on my wishlist! Your comments make me want to read it even more.

  2. September 15, 2010 9:20 pm

    Thanks for highlighting these! Both are going on my WL!

  3. September 16, 2010 3:04 am

    Breakfast at Tiffany’s is a little precious novel, I agree with your observations on the sadness but it really is special. Thanks for reminding me of this one

  4. September 16, 2010 6:08 am

    Oh, I’ve been meaning to read this one! I have Capote’s In Cold Blood on my stacks, but this one sounds delightful. I have seen the movie.

    Here’s mine:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/bbaw-forgotten-treasures/

  5. September 16, 2010 6:44 am

    I’ve seen the Breakfast at Tiffany’s movie and I never knew that there’s also a novella! Your comments make me want to read it right away.

  6. September 16, 2010 9:21 am

    I think I’ll take a page out of your book (pun intended!) and pick this one up at Christmastime, too. I’m ashamed to admit it, but I’ve never seen nor read anything having to do with Breakfast At Tiffany’s — though I did channel Audrey Hepburn’s Holly Golightly for my senior prom! Right down to the hairstyle. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention!

  7. September 16, 2010 12:08 pm

    Yikes, I *think* I read this but it’s been YEARS ago. I’ve seen the movie a thousand times – it was a New Years Tradtion for awhile.
    Capote was a great writer.

  8. September 16, 2010 12:19 pm

    I love breakfast at tiffany’s ,such a fun book ,but touching in parts capote was a hugely talent writer ,all the best stu

  9. September 16, 2010 12:24 pm

    I really loved reading Breakfast at Tiffany’s, so I’m really glad you chose to focus on it! You’re right, I only can remember reading a couple of reviews of this one.

  10. September 16, 2010 12:32 pm

    Breakfast at Tiffany’s is a wonderful book and an awesome recommendation. I rarely speak to any one who’s read it despite the popularity of the movie. I was a little surprised by the difference between the movie and book and read the book a seond time. I really don’t There is something extra special about the book, it’s poignant and melancholy, sad and resigned.

    I loved your review too!
    ~ Amy

  11. September 16, 2010 1:36 pm

    I’ll have to add it to the list!

  12. September 24, 2010 9:26 am

    A must read, will add it to my list.

I <3 Comments

