Skip to content

BBAW – (Un)expected Treasure

September 14, 2010

Welcome to Wednesday of Book Blogger Appreciation Week. Each day comes with a new theme, and I’ve been meaning to participate, but this is the first chance I’ve had to sit down and work on a post. Besides, I couldn’t pass up commenting on today’s theme:

We invite you to share with us a book or genre you tried due to the influence of another blogger. What made you cave in to try something new and what was the experience like?

When I look back at the books I’ve read in the last year and a bit, most of what I’ve read has been a result of numerous book blogger recommendations. However, a particular instances come to mind.

I can’t tell you how many books I’ve added to my to-read list because of Swapna at S. Krishna’s Books. I’m constantly amazed at how much she reads and the variety of what she reads. Earlier this year I came across her review of Before I Forget by Melissa Hill, an author I’d never heard of. Her review convinced me instantly and within the same week I went out and bough a copy of it, something I never do being primarily a library reader. And? I loved it. Then I lent it to my mom and she loved it. Then I went out and bought two more books by Melissa Hill. Swapna didn’t exactly make me explore something new, I had read plenty of chick lit/woman’s literature in the past. But it had been so long since I had read a book in that genre that I had loved, that really had some depth to it, that I had kind of given up on it. Now I have two more Melissa Hill books waiting on my shelf to look forward to.

Happy Book Blogger Appreciation Week! A huge thanks to all of you who have influenced my reading :)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 10:59 pm

    Swapna really does provide excellent recommendations. And I am in awe of just how much she is able to read and review!

  2. September 15, 2010 4:18 am

    I have so many books on my wish list because of Swapna. And I love that she writes so much about South Asian literature because it’s often difficult to find those kind of books by yourself.

  3. September 15, 2010 4:37 am

    Yes, Swapna reads a lot! She always has a wide variety from chick lit to science. Great recs there.

  4. September 15, 2010 5:50 am

    Now this sounds like something I should explore…thanks for sharing.

    Here’s mine:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/bbaw-unexpected-treasures/

  5. September 15, 2010 6:13 am

    I am going to have to look this book up-it’s new to me! I’ve found so many great books through blogging that I don’t know what I did for recs before!

  6. September 15, 2010 7:42 am

    It sounds like I need to read this as I always have trouble finding the perfect “chick lit” book.

  7. September 15, 2010 2:52 pm

    Swapna writes fantastic reviews – I’m sure she’s influenced lots of people!

  8. September 15, 2010 3:53 pm

    There’s nothing like coming upon authors that you never heard of and falling in love with their works. Oh, the power of book bloggers.

I <3 Comments

