Skip to content

Monday Round Up (09.13.10)

September 12, 2010

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling *review to come*
Flawless by Sara Shepard

Currently Reading: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows

You know, Deathly Hallows is one emotionally draining book. It’s a good one, but it’s definitely hard to pick up another book afterwards. I had planned on reading Guernsey, but I kind of felt sorry for whatever book came next. I contemplated putting Guernsey on hold again, because I really did want to enjoy it, but nothing else on my shelf looked very interesting, either. Two days after finishing Deathly Hallows I finally felt up to starting something new, so I reluctantly opened up Guernsey. I’m so glad I decided to still go with it. Loving it so much so far!

Up next: I’m going to go back to picking something random from my TBR shelf.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 7:14 am

    Yay for Guernsey! It’s quickly become one of my stand-by books for when I am feeling stressed. :)

    • September 13, 2010 9:59 am

      Hubby had a super busy/stressful week and another coming up, so last night I read excerpts from Guernsey to him. Weird that a story about recovering from WWII can be the perfect stress releasor. I’m really going to have to get my own copy of this book.

  2. September 13, 2010 11:38 am

    I loved Guernsey – hope you continue to enjoy it!

  3. September 13, 2010 12:14 pm

    Do you know that I’ve never read any of the Harry Potter books? I must be one of the few people in the world not to have!

    However, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is on my to-read list. I hope you’re enjoying it! :)

  4. September 13, 2010 1:36 pm

    I was reading DH in bed one night and came to a part where one of my favorite people is killed. I started to cry and my husband thought I’d truly lost it! Saying goodbye to all of them was incredibly hard!!!

  5. September 13, 2010 1:55 pm

    I loved Guernsey, too, and didn’t think I would. Hope you have fun with it.

    Here’s my reading week:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/its-monday-what-are-you-reading/

  6. September 13, 2010 5:32 pm

    Glad you’re enjoying Guernsey! One of my favorites. Here’s my Monday: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2010/09/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_13.html#comments

  7. September 13, 2010 7:11 pm

    It will be hard to pick up another book after HP 7. You’re so drained after it. I’ve heard some good things about Guernsey so I hope it works out for you.

  8. September 13, 2010 8:34 pm

    I have to get on Guernsey and forgot to add it to my to be read this week list! GAH! Next week for sure :)

    I think my review still may have potato peel pie though….. :)

I <3 Comments

