Skip to content

Flawless by Sara Shepard (final thoughts)

September 12, 2010

*Contains some spoilers from Pretty Little Liars #1*

Allison has been laid to rest, but former besties Aria, Emily, Hanna, and Spencer are still receiving notes from the mysterious A. And A is still taunting them with secrets both long held and newly developed. This time around A wants the girls to reveal some of the secrets, or A will reveal them on their behalf, not caring who gets hurt in the process. The girls think they have discovered the identity of A and Allison’s murderer, but can they stop A before someone else gets hurt?

For the most part, I didn’t enjoy Flawless as much as I did Pretty Little Liars. One of my scruples with the first book was that the characters weren’t particularly likeable. I warmed slightly to Aria, Emily, and Spencer in Flawless, each of them dealing with their own personal secrets. The way in which they faced these secrets – family discord, personal identity – felt genuine. However, Hanna still drove me nuts, seeming now to be even more superficial and selfish. I nearly skipped over some of her chapters. But, like in Pretty Little Liars, it was the mysterious identity of A and the revelation of secrets that kept me reading.

As the start to the series, Pretty Little Liars primarily felt like it was laying the foundation for the following books. Like it was setting the scene for something big to happen. For most of Flawless I felt somewhat let down, because nothing big was really happening. I needed have worried because there was definitely some action waiting for me. Once the action started up near the end, Sara Shepard again had me hooked. I was glued to the pages, wide-eyed, needing to know what happens next. Of course Flawless ends on another cliffhanger, so it looks like there are more big things to come for Aria, Emily, Hanna, and Spencer. I can’t wait to read the next book!

My rating: 7.5/10

Related:
Soundtrack Saturday
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge 14/25

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 4:30 pm

    I like cliffhangers but only when I have the next book just sitting there waiting for me!! :D
    This is a series that I really want to get back into as many of my Middle School students are totally wrapped up in the series!

  2. September 12, 2010 10:13 pm

    I completely get what you mean. I read the whole series this summer (should review them sometimes :-p) and Flawless was my least favorite of the all. I felt like it was only a bridge between the first book and what was coming next.

I <3 Comments

