Skip to content

Wrapping Up August 2010

September 7, 2010

I’ve been putting off this post because I refused to believe that it’s already September. Like denial will keep the sunshine around. But, now that the Labour Day weekend has passed, it’s time to face the facts that Fall is upon us.

I had a fantastic August that included some great books. One that will be a favourite of 2010 and another that I disliked but will not soon forget. My total list of finished books is somewhat small, but what can I say? I was busy enjoying summertime!

Now that cooler weather has returned I’m hoping that rainy evenings, curled up with a book and a big mug of tea will also return. September will see me finish my reread of the Harry Potter series and (hopefully) keep a promise.

How was your August? Do you have any September plans?

Books Finished:
Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars) by Sara Shepard
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
One Day by David Nicholls
Heat Wave by Richard Castle

Favourite Book: Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

Least Favourite Book: One Day by David Nicholls

Soundtrack Saturdays:
Rebecca
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
One Day
Heat Wave

Challenges:
Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge 6/15
Buy One Book and Read It 6/6 *Completed*
Read Your Name Challenge 4/5
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge 13/25

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 10:22 am

    Wow, you did have a great August! Rebecca is on my list to read this year, and I love anything Harry Potter!

  2. September 7, 2010 12:08 pm

    August was a good month of reading. I just finished The House on the Strand by Du Maurier and loved it. I need to add Rebecca to the list.

  3. September 7, 2010 12:16 pm

    Coffee and a Book Chick – Thanks! I hope you enjoy Rebecca when you get to it. It’s definitely one of my top 2 of 2010 so far.

    Amy – Oooh I need to add The House on the Strand to my to-read list. Rebecca was my first du Maurier and now I’m itching to read more.

  4. September 7, 2010 2:16 pm

    Hmmm…I did not read as much in August as I normally do…I was day dreaming and gardening and organizing and playing hidden object games on bigfish…but I read Stiltsville and some others…and I am reading Halo now and plan on reading more in September…

    We usually love to stay home in the summer…and travel in September and October!!!

  5. September 7, 2010 6:35 pm

    I have a copy of Rebecca…must make time next year to read it. I can relate…how did it get to be September already?

  6. September 8, 2010 9:32 am

    Patty – Traveling in the Fall is a good idea. We did some traveling in the Spring, just before busy season. Far less busy plus lower accommodation prices :)

    Staci – I had planned on reading Rebecca last year, but didn’t get to it until this summer. It’s seems to be a book that requires a year’s planning.

I <3 Comments

