Skip to content

Monday Round Up (09.06.10)

September 5, 2010

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

Just one book added to the TBR shelf this week:

Flawless by Sara Shepard (Pretty Little Liars)

.

.

.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Nothing this week! Hubby & I have started on a fitness/nutrition program (now beginning week 3!), and it’s going pretty well. However, with all the food prep, clean up, and exercise, not much time has been left for reading. Hoping that will change this week.

Posted: Heat Wave by Richard Castle

Currently Reading:
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
Flawless by Sara Shepard

The middle chunk of Deathly Hallows is so depressing, I figured I needed something a little more frothy for my long-weekend reading. Flawless became available at the library just in time!

Up next: It’ll probably take me a good part of the week to finish Deathly Hallows, but once I’m done that I’ll move on to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer because, of course, I’ve promised I’ll read it. However, if by some miracle Mockingjay comes in for me at the library, Guernsey will have to wait another week.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 6:44 pm

    I’m still waiting on my copy of Mockingjay but I’ve put the word out; no Mockingjay for you until you’ve read Guernsey *giggle*
    Have a great week and happy reading :-)

    • September 8, 2010 9:34 am

      Yeesh, you are a tough cookie! Okay, fine, I’ll read Guernsey first. :)

  2. September 5, 2010 6:56 pm

    Have a fantastic week reading! Harry Potter is a fun series. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/09/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-labor-day-edition.html

  3. September 5, 2010 7:05 pm

    I can’t wait to see what you think about Guernsey. It’s one of my favorite books, but some people find it hard to get into. Hope you enjoy it!!

  4. September 5, 2010 7:05 pm

    I finished Mockingjay at the weekend. Happy reading! :D

  5. September 5, 2010 7:32 pm

    Guernsey is one of my favorite books. It reminded me a lot 84, Charring Cross Road by Helene Hanff. I think I have a deep love of epistolary novels (technically, 84 Charring Cross Road is non-fiction). Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn is also a GREAT epistolary novel. I’ve a blog post saved in the draft bin about all of the ones I’ve loved. Maybe I get it polished one day. Oh well, hope you enjoy The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

    • September 8, 2010 9:58 am

      I’ve ever heard of Ella Minnow Pea, but I really like epistolary novels so I’m going to have to check that one out! Thanks for the recommendation.

  6. September 5, 2010 8:09 pm

    You know, I’ve *tried* to buy Heat Wave on several occasions and all the stores I visit have been sold out! I will pretend that means Richard Castle is as big of a seller in real life as he is in the show. I’ll have to go check out your review :)

    Hope you have a great week! Mine is here:

    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=1640

  7. September 5, 2010 8:15 pm

    I started Mockingjay last week and then went on vacation to visit family and friends in Boston and got so lazy while on a boat that week that I read nothing! Mockingjay is fun and I’m ready to finish reading it now!!

  8. September 6, 2010 12:10 am

    I have never read the Harry Potter series. So sad about that. I have several of the books but something always came up.

  9. September 6, 2010 2:40 am

    I suppose I’m not the only one then that has been skipping on reading. Like you I only have 2 to report for this week. But I hope that all changes for next week. I hope Mockingjay comes in for you. I’m a library fanatic too. I’ve been waiting for the Millenium trilogy. By the time I get my hands on them they’ll be out of fashion!

    Here’s my Monday: http://mywordlyobsessions.wordpress.com

  10. September 6, 2010 6:20 am

    I LOVED the Guernsey book…and I’m curious about Heat Wave.

    Hope you have a great week.

    Here’s mine:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/09/06/monday-memes-mailbox-and-what-are-you-reading-sept-6/

  11. September 6, 2010 7:10 am

    I love you and Sheila’s pinky swear but I can see that going on the backburner for Mockingjay, lol

    Have a great week and good luck with your new exercise goals.

  12. September 6, 2010 7:44 am

    I’m re-reading (well listening) to Deathly Hallows and probably getting to about the same part as you’re at. Hope you get Mockingjay soon!

  13. September 6, 2010 7:46 am

    I hope you love Guernsey! Looking forward to your thoughts as well as Sheila’s!

  14. jedi145 permalink
    September 6, 2010 11:57 am

    I adore Harry Potter
    I loved Mockingjay ! :D Hope you get to enjoy it soon

  15. September 6, 2010 3:41 pm

    I broke down crying while reading HP and my hubby thought I had lost my mind!! Have a great week :D

    • September 8, 2010 10:00 am

      I finished it last night – and sobbed. And then sobbed some more.

  16. September 6, 2010 3:56 pm

    Oooh, I’ve been curious about Heat Wave.

    xx,
    E.J
    From the Shadows

  17. September 6, 2010 5:08 pm

    Finally I am home and making the rounds. Guernsey didnt make my list this week but I am hopeful for next week. I dont blame you for giving Mockingjay priority. :)

    As far as your new eating habits and exercise taking up more of your reading time I have one word for you:

    audio books.

    Uhhhh….. ok, thats two words but still…. :D

    • September 8, 2010 10:01 am

      Ahhh right, I think I’ve heard something about those. For whatever reason, I’ve held off from them, but might actually have to give one a try soon.

I <3 Comments

