Skip to content

Heat Wave by Richard Castle (final thoughts)

September 4, 2010

There’s a heat wave stifling New York City, but Detective Nikki Heat can’t let that slow her down. She’s having enough trouble as it is with hot-shot journalist Jameson Rook shadowing her every step. Now that a real estate tycoon has fallen to his death, Nikki has to figure out who was behind his fall before more people get hurt – including herself.

I came to Heat Wave looking for something light and fun and not serious whatsoever, and that’s exactly what I found. It helped that I read it during our last heat wave of the summer. It took a chapter or two for me to get into it, but once the action started in earnest, I was hooked right to the end.

Heat Wave is the book written by the fictional character Richard Castle during the first season of Castle and published part way through the second season. You may have heard this in other reviews, but it’s true: reading Heat Wave was like reading an episode of Castle. Which is to say that fans of the show will likely really enjoy it, while fans of mystery/thrillers will likely not enjoy it quite as much. As a big fan of the show, I really had fun reading Heat Wave. For one thing, there are no descriptions of the main characters, yet I could easily picture all of them. Long descriptions were given of each of the witnesses, victims, and suspects, but nothing to indicate that Detective Heat looked like Stana Katic, that Rook looked like Nathan Fillion, or that the M.E. looked like Tamala Jones. Fans of the show won’t need those extra details to flesh out the characters, but it could definitely be a hinderance to people who haven’t watched it.

Also, there are so many references to things that have happened in the show, it felt like spending time with some old friends. A few things that happened to Rook were obvious fantasies of Castle and made me think ‘Ha, Castle, you wish!’ only to remind myself that Rick Castle is also a fictional character. I tried not to think about that too much: fictional characters based on fictional characters based maybe on real people. Huh?

All in all, this was the perfect way to tide me over until season 3 begins.

My rating: 7/10

Related:
Soundtrack Saturday

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 2:22 pm

    Your thoughts sound allot like mine. It was light and I enjoyed spending time with my favorite characters. Especially getting to see how Castle imagines his relationship with Beckett.

    Great review.

    I am counting down the days till the new season :)

  2. September 8, 2010 10:53 am

    That is such a cool idea! I don’t even watch Castle, and I think it’s cool. Lol.

  3. stacybuckeye permalink
    September 12, 2010 7:22 pm

    I haven’t read the books yet but I am so looking forward to season 3!

Trackbacks

  1. 2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (Adult Smorgasbord) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

