Skip to content

Monday Round Up (08.16.10)

August 15, 2010

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I’ve loosened by ban requirements a bit and am now allowing myself to borrow from the library again every now and then. This past week was my first visit to the library in months and it was lovely.

I picked up:
One Day by David Nicholls
84, Charing Cross Road (1986) [Sweet movie, but of course not as charming as the book]

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling *review to come*

However, I did post my thoughts on Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier last week.

Currently Reading: One Day by David Nicholls

Up next: Likely Heat Wave by Richard Castle. I feel like I need something nice and light, plus I want to make sure I read it before the next season of Castle starts up. After that, it’s on to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 7:40 pm

    Your thoughts on Rebecca have me SO ANXIOUS to start my copy. I own two Daphne du Maurier books and cannot wait to read them.

    The style sounds VERY similar to Wilkie Collins’ The Woman in White – you should check it out. I bet you’d love it as well!

  2. August 15, 2010 7:50 pm

    I just finished One Day yesterday. Not sure how I feel about it yet. Still trying to formulate a review. Good luck with it!

    Rebecca is one of my all time favorite books.

    Have a great reading week.

    Here is my review:

    http://www.gerberadaisydiaries.com/2010/08/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_15.html

  3. August 15, 2010 8:07 pm

    I just got One Day a week or two ago, I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of it!

    Hope you have a wonderful week :) Mine is here:
    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=1569

  4. August 15, 2010 8:29 pm

    Glad you enjoyed Rebecca – one of my all-time favourites.

    Have a great reading week. :-)

  5. August 15, 2010 8:49 pm

    Rebecca was on my read summer list for last year. sadly I still have not read it. I must check out your review :D

  6. August 16, 2010 1:07 am

    I have been interested in Rebecca ever since you began reading it and I loved, loved, loved your review. Hope you have a great week!

  7. August 16, 2010 3:05 am

    I’m off to check out your review of Rebecca, it’s been waiting patiently on my bookshelf for a loooong time! 84, Charing Cross Road is another one on my wishlist. Have a wonderful week and happy reading :-)

  8. August 16, 2010 3:21 am

    I love Harry Potter. The Castle book sounds fun too. :)

  9. August 16, 2010 5:27 am

    I enjoyed Harry Potter. Hope you are too. :-)

  10. August 16, 2010 11:32 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed Rebecca so much, it’s definitely one of my favorites! :) And I love that cartoon about the library on your post – very funny! :) Have a great week!

  11. August 16, 2010 12:39 pm

    The Harry Potter series is the only YA series I have truly liked. I should go back and re-read them. Have a wonderful week reading. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/08/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-8.html

  12. August 16, 2010 8:36 pm

    light week over here–checked out a few more audio books to keep me company on my drives, but other than that i’m just gearing up for the start of the school year. happy reading! :)

  13. August 17, 2010 4:05 am

    I love Castle! I’ve promised myself I’ll get around to the books soon.

  14. August 18, 2010 1:24 am

    Hey – just hoppin’ by! I started the hop on Friday, but had to leave, just now getting back to it. Hope you had a great weekend! Stop by The Wormhole and say hi!

I <3 Comments

