Skip to content

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard (final thoughts)

August 8, 2010

I never had any intention of reading Pretty Little Liars. There’s been lots of buzz about the series and especially the TV show, but I hadn’t checked out either of them. Then last week I came across April’s review of Pretty Little Liars in which she mentioned that at the moment it’s available online, for free. I needed a break from another book I was reading, so I thought ‘hey, why not’ and started reading. And could. not. stop.

Seriously, this book is so addictive.

Pretty Little Liars follows four girls, Aria, Emily, Hanna, and Spencer, who up to the summer before eighth grade were best friends. That summer the leader of their pack, Alison, mysteriously vanished and the other four slowly grew apart until they were practically strangers. However, at the beginning of their eleventh year of school, where Pretty Little Liars picks up, they each start getting messages hinting a secret each girl was hiding. Secrets that only Alison knew about. And the messages are all signed ‘A’.

It wasn’t the writing or the characters that kept me keep reading, it was the mystery that hooked me. Slowly each of the girls’ secrets are revealed, but there’s also a combined secret that all four girls are in on, but only a few details about it are disclosed through out the book. Plus, there’s the identity of the mysterious A. Is Alison back, or is there someone else who knows all their secrets?

If you need a quick, fun break from some heavier reading, I highly recommend this one. My only caution is that once you start, you may not be able to stop. I, for example, will most definitely continue reading this series. My name is already on the hold list at the library for book #2.

My rating: 8/10

Wanna read it now?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 7:18 pm

    I was surprised by how fun this book was, too! I didn’t think I would get into it, but it was a very mysterious, juicy read.

  2. August 9, 2010 9:35 am

    I am surprised at myself that I’ve never read this series, “My only caution is that once you start, you may not be able to stop” this is the sort of genuine recommendation I tend to listen to…:)

  3. August 15, 2010 4:07 pm

    I got so sucked into this series!

  4. August 17, 2010 12:02 pm

    My sis wants this one badly. Great review.

  5. August 20, 2010 11:57 am

    The mystery was really what got me, too. It’s definitely not a novel to exercise your brain, but sometimes we just need something light, fun and addictive! This was definitely that sort of book for me. I do want to continue the series — just haven’t found the time. (Story of our lives, right?!)

  6. August 23, 2010 5:15 am

    Cute review! Sometimes a girl needs a break :)

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

