Skip to content

Wrapping Up July 2010

August 5, 2010

I cannot believe how fast July flew by. This year I’ve realized just how much of a summer person I am. The heat, the dryness, the sunshine – I love it all :) I’m trying hard not to think that too soon months and months of rain will be upon us.

Aside from the beautiful weather, July also brought some great reading. The Harry Potter Reread Project has been a great experience overall, and I’m sad that I’m coming close to the end of the series.

You may remember that a few months ago I decided I needed to go on a book acquisition ban. No buying books, no borrowing books. I started the ban at the end of April, and since the beginning of May I’ve only acquired 4 new books! I’ve been slowly reading down my TBR pile (the Harry Potter rereads have made this slower going than anticipated), but I’m quite happy with my progress. I’ve even relaxed my rules a bit and have started putting my name on hold lists at the library.

How was your July?

Books Finished:
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
Benny & Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

Favourite Book: 84, Charing Cross Road

Least Favourite Book: This is hard, as I really enjoyed all my July books. Sadly, I think I’m going to have to go with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

Soundtrack Saturdays:
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Benny & Shrimp
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
84, Charing Cross Road

Challenges:
Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge 6/15
Buy One Book and Read It 5/6
Read Your Name Challenge 4/5
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge 12/25


5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 10:38 am

    Looks like it was a successful month! :)

  2. August 5, 2010 2:47 pm

    You have had a great month by the looks of it :) And I really like your ‘Acquisition Ban’. I’ve been meaning to put one into motion for myself but I always get sidetracked. I use the library quite a lot now and have only bought 4 books in 8 months so far (they were a bargain, couldn’t resist!)

    I hope the summer weather lasts a little longer for you! Happy reading!

  3. August 5, 2010 4:20 pm

    You won the Versatile Blogger Award! Come check it out! http://seaofpages.blogspot.com/2010/08/versatile-blogger-award.html

    ((Sorry to contact you this way. I couldn’t find an email.))

    ~Arya

  4. taraSG permalink
    August 5, 2010 10:03 pm

    I am not a summer person. I hate the heat and humidity :(

    I want to reread the HP series so bad, I just have too many books I need to get read/reviewed before I’d feel like I could take my time with them. Before the next movie for sure :)

  5. August 7, 2010 7:50 pm

    Haha! Like Tara, I am so not a summer person. I like reading under the sun, but my tolerance to heat is really minimal!
    Looks like you had a good month though! I really want to start re-reading the Potter books soon, too. It’s been too long!

I <3 Comments

