Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

July 31, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. If you’d like to join in, please either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

Current Read: 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

One Sentence Summary: 20 years of correspondence between a NY writer and a London bookseller.

Soundtrack Song: “Fairytale Lullaby” by Bombay Bicycle Club, from the album Flaws.

Why I chose this song: I had such a hard time coming up with a song for this book. Any song I could find that dealt with long-distance relationships were sad songs, and this is not a sad book. Helene and Frank’s friendship is sweet and funny. So I decided to go with “Fairytale Lullaby” because it’s nostalgic and storytime-ish. Although, while I think Frank would have liked it, I’m sure that Helene would have scoffed at it.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 1:08 am

    I haven’t heard of this song before. Will definitely check it out! This book has been on my wishlist for quite a while now.

    Misha
    New Blogger
    http://books-love-affair.blogspot.com/

  2. August 1, 2010 9:13 am

    Hi! I’m Arya from A Sea of Pages. I just started doing this meme yesterday and didn’t know anyone else was until Natalie from Mindful Musings sent me your link. I’ll be sure and link to your blog from now on. Great idea, by the way. ;)

    ~Arya
    http://seaofpages.blogspot.com/2010/07/sountrack-saturday-1.html
    http://twitter.com/seaofpages

  3. August 1, 2010 9:45 am

    Misha – It’s such a great book, and super short so it won’t take up much of your time ;) I highly recommend it.

    Arya – Thanks for joining in! I’m looking forward to checking out your musical choices :)

I <3 Comments

