Skip to content

Reread: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling

July 30, 2010

This summer, I’ve decided to finally reread the Harry Potter series. I’ve reread most of the books a few times, but this will be my first time reading the whole series, beginning to end, since the 7th book came out. After each book I’ll to do a quick post highlighting things that stood out to me in that reread. It’ll be my own little Harry Potter reading challenge :) Note: There will most definitely be series-wide spoilers in these posts.

I’ve just finished Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and it makes me SO SAD that I am coming SO CLOSE to the end of the series. Only two more books left – I am not ready to part with these friends yet! … Again. Or something.

Anyway. This reread went over much better than my reread of Goblet of Fire did. I’m not going to talk about many plot elements here, but there are three characters I want to quickly focus on.

First off, Ginny Weasley. In the first few books Ginny is portrayed mainly as just Ron’s little sister, the quiet youngest Weasley who lives in the shadows of her older brothers. Even in book 2, where she’s pretty central to the plot, she’s still a figure on the sidelines. I loved watching her personality come out in Order of the Phoenix. She’s fierce and mischievous and easily one of my favourite characters of the series. It’s no wonder Harry falls in love with her. Reading these books, I can’t help but compare the characters to their movie counterparts. It’s been a while since I watched the later movies in the series, but from I can remember Movie Ginny unfortunately doesn’t seem to have the same oomph that Book Ginny does. What do you think?

Luna Lovegood is first introduced in Order of the Phoenix and you know? I really like her. I lover her spaciness and her naive sweetness and her little pearls of wisdom. It always hits me to the heart when Harry finds her putting up notices listing everything that has been taken from her during the school year. What makes me most sad is that she is so used to these kinds of things happening to her, they don’t even surprise her anymore. In fact, she seems to expect them. However, despite her apparent obliviousness, she is acutely aware of how others perceive her and she makes no apologies for who she is. That is what I like most about her. Also, Luna is also one of the few characters whose live realization I really like. Movie Luna is nearly identical to how I picture Book Luna.

Lastly, let’s talk a little about Delores Umbridge. In my opinion she is one of the best Harry Potter villains. She is just so wonderfully horrible. Whenever I read Order of the Phoenix I anticipate her arrival on the scene and eagerly await her downfall. Now, I’m not saying I like Umbridge, just that she fulfills her role really, really well. Sadly, her awfulness did not translate well to the big screen, which was one of the most disappointing parts of the film adaptation of Order of the Phoenix. Although I should watch again sometime to refresh my memory. What’s your take on Umbridge?

Related:
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Harry Potter and the Prizoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Soundtrack Saturday

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 6:51 pm

    Harry Potter was my best childhood discovery! Though I was a bit disappointed with the 5th part I love the series!
    I just started my own blog. Please stop by if you can. Thank you

    Misha
    http://books-love-affair.blogspot.com/

  2. July 31, 2010 8:31 am

    I agree with you about Film Ginny. It took me a while to warm up to Book Ginny, but by the end of the fifth book I had come to terms with Harry’s eventually falling in love with her, and she quickly became one of my favorite characters. With her pretty hair and her Quidditch skills. Film Ginny is a little bland (alas!).

    But I loved Film Umbridge! She didn’t manage to be quite as evil as Book Umbridge; still, she was pretty terrible. I always wish we’d seen terrible things happening to her at the end of the books. She’s such an awful villain!

  3. July 31, 2010 6:17 pm

    HAHAHA did you finish it on your lunch break??? It’s sometimes sad to say goodbye to characters that we come to love and care about!

  4. August 1, 2010 10:49 am

    Misha – I don’t remember being all that impressed with this book the first couple times I read it, but I really enjoyed it this time around. Funny how your enjoyment of a book can change after a couple rereads!

    Jenny – See, I really need to watch this movie again. I remember being disappointed by Movie Umbridge and my husband (who hasn’t read the book) wondering what the fuss about her was all about.

    LR – No, I ended up having my lunch break cut short. Don’t people understand I need my full break to finish my book?! I did, however, finish it as soon as I got home :)

  5. August 4, 2010 1:00 pm

    First I have to say, The Order of the Phoenix movie is ok..much much MUCH better than Half Blood Prince (don’t get me started on that one)

    Umbridge makes my blood boil. I think she’s worse in the book than in the movie tho. But I’d love to have her kitty collection :)

  6. Parker permalink
    August 5, 2010 1:07 am

    I totally agree with your views on dolores. She is so despicablly evil you want to punch her in the face sometimes… well that might be overkill but i do think she fulfills her role of the crule powerhungry person she is.

  7. August 5, 2010 2:54 pm

    You know something? I feel sad just reading your review of your re-read. It reminds me of how I felt when I finally got my hands of ‘Order of the Phoenix’; I was over the moon! It is in my opinion, one of the best books in the series and I was so sad when I finished it. It dawned on me just how close I was to the ending of whole Potter saga. It broke my heart.

    Dolores Umbridge is a great villain. No doubt about it. There is something infinitely sinister about her, something very wrong in her head that makes Snape and even Voldemort look alright. Dolores was just plain evil. I wonder who the inspiration for Umbridge was. Rowling is notorious for basing her characters around people she’s known. Does anyone know by any chance? Excellent review by the way.

Trackbacks

  1. HP Fan Interview {alita.reads.} « 25 Hour Books

I <3 Comments

