Skip to content

Do You Youtube?

July 27, 2010
tags:

If I’m sitting in front of my computer and not reading blogs, I’m likely doing one other thing. Watching Youtube videos. Not videos of hamsters on pianos or the latest flash mob (although I definitely enjoy watching those, too). No, I’m likely watching a vlog, and it’s likely making me giggle.

I know that vlogging isn’t a new thing, but I’ve only recently become a fan of the format. Over the last few months I have found a few favourite vloggers from whom I eagerly await new videos on a daily basis.

It started in January when I finished Paper Towns needed more John Green. Without another Green book in reach, I went online for something to hold me over until I was able to get my hands on An Abundance of Katherines. I soon came across vlogbrothers, the youtube channel of Hank and John Green. What started as a way for the brothers to keep in touch from opposite sides of the country has turned into a pretty amazing community of Nerdfighters. Their videos are a mix of social commentary, music (Hank) and book (John) updates, and random hilarity.
A video to start with: Book Nerd PARADISE

Shortly after I started obsessively watching every vlogbrother video made (I still haven’t accomplished this), a fellow book blogger (I can’t remember who it was! I feel I owe so much laughter to you, whoever you are!) tweeted a link to some vlogger who was reading Twilight. And so I was introduced to nerimon (aka Alex Day) who not is not only in the middle of reading Twilight, but providing commentary as he makes his way through each chapter. And it is HILarious. The British accent definitely adds to the wonderfulness of these videos. Plus, Alex Day is also a musician and is on Hank Green’s label, DFTBA Records.
A video to start with: Alex Reads Twilight Ch 1

These next two are more recent finds. John Green recently tweeted about a new-to-him vlogger called elmify. Turns out she wasn’t just new to him, but to the youtube community in general. She’s only been vlogging for about 6 months, but she had a unique voice right from video number 1. She mainly talks about life and vlogging, and I love the cuts to her younger selves and her easily excited, overly optimistic self. I’ve already watched all her videos… I feel I should have paced myself a bit.
A video to start with: Fantasy world ain’t what it used to be

That elmify video introduced me to the final vlogger on my list: meekakitty. How did I not already know about her? Tessa is wacky, funny, and makes geeky look good. I have wasted smartly spent a good amount of time on her channel. I encourage you to do the same.
A video to start with: To tie this up nicely, here’s meekakitty’s wrap up video on VidCon, the youtube conference organized by Hank and John Green: I want to SpinJump
I also really like this video, and think it’s a great take on sponsorship and non-traditional marketing: YOU’RE NOT FROM THE FUTURE!!1! D:

What are your favourite youtube channels? Any literary-based ones you recommend?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 6:45 am

    I don’t follow any on youtube on a regular basis… but like you I do spend a lot of time watching videos on youtube! LOL I actually vlog about books on my blog, you should check it out! http://reederreads.wordpress.com/2010/07/02/friday-finds/

    I’m doing another one for this Friday too! :)

  2. July 31, 2010 8:29 am

    Oh mercy, I just watched all those Alex Reads Twilight videos, and they made me laugh so much. It is all so true.

  3. August 1, 2010 10:14 am

    oh my gosh Alita, thank you so much for linking Alex’s videos. i stayed up all night watching him and losing myself in giggles. awesome!

  4. August 1, 2010 10:55 am

    Jenny & Sarah – He he he. You are welcome. I’ve watched all his Twilight videos too many times… but I think it’s time for a repeat of them :)

I <3 Comments

