Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Benny and Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti

July 17, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. If you’d like to join in, please either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

Current Read: Benny & Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti

One Sentence Summary: Benny and Desiree are complete opposites but an unlikely location brings them together – the graves they visit at the cemetery.

Soundtrack Song: “Light A Roman Candle With Me” by fun., from the album Aim and Ignite.

Why I chose this song: Benny & Shrimp is a sweet and quirky story, so I knew the song to go with it would also have to be just as sweet and quirky. I love this song, so I don’t take its literary placement lightly. There’s a fluttery feeling of new love in the melody, but the lyrics speak to what Benny and Desiree ask themselves about their relationship throughout the book.

If we were honest and both wrote a sonnet
Together a sandwich with everything on it
At least we would know that the sparks didn’t glow
But we owe it to ourselves to try, so we aim and igni
te!

[Side note: I missed this band when they were in town in the Spring of last year, and had to endure weeks of hearing of how fantastic they are live. That they far surpassed the band they were opening for. I had been kicking myself ever since for going out of town that weekend. Just this past week I found out that they will be coming back in October, and playing headlining show even. I will not miss them again. The show is already in my calendar. All I can say is, if you ever have a chance to see fun. play, do it.]

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

No comments yet

I <3 Comments

