Skip to content

1st Blogoversary Party and Contest!

June 30, 2010
tags:

Guys, today is my first blogoversary!

On June 29th last year my husband suggested I start a blog to track my reading. I think he was getting tired of being my main sounding board for all my books. So on June 30th alita.reads. was born. When I started this blog, I had no idea what I was getting into. I thought it would be a place where I kept track of my thoughts on books, but who’s going to read that? Maybe my mom. How surprised was I to find such a big and inviting book blogging community out there! Thank you so much to everyone who has taken the time to visit and comment over the last year. It really means so much to me. And now hubby not only gets to hear about my reading and blog, he gets to hear about all yours, too ;)

But enough with the speeches. A party wouldn’t be a party without presents or music. Bring on the Blogoversary Contest!

Here’s the deal, fill out the form and tell me what your favourite dance song is. What’s the one song that makes you feel like getting up and dancing, no matter where you are? The winner (chosen using random.org) will win a $20 Amazon.com gift card. Gift card will be emailed to winner.

To enter the contest: Fill out the form!

* ends Friday, July 2 11:59 pm PST *

Don’t want to enter the contest but still want to contribute music? Leave your dance picks in the comments!

I will announce the winner and your music selections on Saturday, July 3 for a full out dance party! Announced!

*big thanks to Anastasia for the dance party suggestion :)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 1:52 am

    Happy Birthday ! I know what you mean as I have only been blogging for a few months myself and I am impressed by how nice bloggers are. How is your husband coping? Mine suggested the idea but I can see he is probably regretting his choice :)
    My favorite dancing song is Song 2 (Blur, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlAHZURxRjY)
    I was 16 when it was released and it’s been a favorite of mine ever since

  2. June 30, 2010 3:47 am

    Happy blogiversary!!

  3. June 30, 2010 7:48 am

    Happy 1 Year Blogoversary! :) PS Love the pic

  4. June 30, 2010 11:01 am

    Happy blogoversary!

  5. June 30, 2010 11:09 am

    Happy Blogoversary, Alita!!!!
    Oooh, dance songs! I wanna go to this party ;). I have to admit that songs from the “Grease” and “Saturday Night Fever” soundtrack still make me want to dance, even these many years later–LOL.

  6. stacybuckeye permalink
    June 30, 2010 1:52 pm

    Happy Blogoversary! You’ve had a great first year :)

  7. June 30, 2010 2:14 pm

    Happy blogaversary!,

  8. Mark D permalink
    June 30, 2010 2:19 pm

    Wohoo!!! Happy ‘versary :)

  9. June 30, 2010 2:40 pm

    Happy blogaversary! Very cool. Hope the coming year is even better. :)

  10. June 30, 2010 3:59 pm

    Happy blogoversary! :D Not entering the contest, but I have AWESOME DANCE SONGS here we go~

    I tend to be more of an ironically awesome and/or “I look like I’m being attacked by giant crabs” sort of dancer, so just picture that when listening to these songs:

    The Bad Touch – Bloodhound Gang
    Dance Commander – Electric Six
    Popular – The Veronicas
    Mamma Mia – ABBA (or any ABBA song, really)
    Separate Ways (Worlds Apart) – Journey (with awesome headbanging)

  11. June 30, 2010 5:28 pm

    Wooohooo! Congrats! :)

  12. June 30, 2010 6:02 pm

    Happy blogoversary!

  13. taraSG permalink
    June 30, 2010 6:19 pm

    Happy Blogoversary!!

  14. July 2, 2010 12:31 pm

    Congrats :D
    *not an entry*

  15. July 2, 2010 6:24 pm

    Happy blogiversary! One of my favorite dance songs is Will.I.Am – It’s A New Day.

Trackbacks

  1. Giveaway: alita.reads. turns two! « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

