Skip to content

Reread: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling

June 28, 2010

This summer, I’ve decided to finally reread the Harry Potter series. I’ve reread most of the books a few times, but this will be my first time reading the whole series, beginning to end, since the 7th book came out. After each book I’ll to do a quick post highlighting things that stood out to me in that reread. It’ll be my own little Harry Potter reading challenge :) Note: There will most definitely be series-wide spoilers in these posts.

There were a couple things that stood out to me in this reread of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. The first was just how much I enjoyed reading it. Prisoner of Azkaban is my least favourite of the movies and I seem to expect the book to suck just as much. But it doesn’t! There’s so much intensity in this book. It starts right at the beginning with Harry snapping and making his aunt balloon up and continues right to the end with the injustice he feels at constantly being told to be cautious and anger towards Sirius Black. He definitely seems older in this book than he did in the first two. And there’s something else that’s changed about him. Angst? Determination to prove himself? Just becoming a teenaged boy?

The second thing that stood out to me was Rowling’s ability to make the reader feel strongly one way about a character and then completely flipping that around. The most obvious case in this book is Sirius. She convincingly portrays him as a murderous lunatic and then switches that perception to beloved godfather. But it also made me think about Snape. I mean, he his pretty awful to Harry, there’s no denying that. But who, after reading The Deathly Hallows loathes him quite as much as the first time they read the books?

That’s all I have to say about Prisoner of Azkaban for now. What was your favourite part of this book?

Related:
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Soundtrack Saturday
YA Reading Challenge 12/12

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 8:53 pm

    I like to thing of Harry Potter having two phases with books 1,2 and 3 on one phase 5,6,7 on the other and the fourth being the bridge. I make this distinction because of the increasing darkness of the later books.

    All this talk to say that Azkaban is my favorite book of the first phase.
    I also like the movie.Specially compared with the first two…

    “The most obvious case in this book is Sirius. She convincingly portrays him as a murderous lunatic and then switches that perception to beloved godfather”
    This is so true, i still remember reading it and it was amazing…

    • June 29, 2010 4:47 pm

      I agree with you on the phases. Books 1-3 are a lot lighter and that definitely changes when Voldemort returns in book 4. Maybe book 4 being the turning point between the two is part of what makes it my favourite of the series. There’s still some of the lightness from the beginning, but darkness is clearly brewing.

  2. June 29, 2010 3:16 pm

    *still loathes Snape the same*

    I’m so unkind! I can’t help it though. Snape’s such a bully – not just to Harry, which okay, there’s some emotional baggage there, and I can understand it if not condone it. But there’s no reason for him to be as mean as he is to Neville; and I never forgave him for this one time in the fourth book where he makes fun of Hermione for having too-prominent teeth. What kind of grown-up makes fun of a fourteen-year-old girl’s physical appearance, and to her face, and in front of all her peers? MEAN.

    • June 29, 2010 4:56 pm

      Well, there goes that theory. Darn it. ;)

      I think he’s mean to Neville and Hermione just because they’re part of Harry’s clan. Snape’s meanness transfers to anyone who doesn’t dislike Harry. His dad had a whole clan that Snape hated, then Harry comes to Hogwarts with a new clan for Snape to pick on.

      I’m sure there are holes in that theory as well!

  3. justbookreading permalink
    June 29, 2010 5:27 pm

    Prisoner of Azkaban is probably my favorite. I love that the series takes a dark turn in this book and keeps it going. My favorite is Sirius. He’s made out to be this horrible human being and he’s not but you do find out what kind of person Snape is. I agree — I will never like him no matter what. Jenny’s right, who makes fun of a 14 year old’s teeth!

I <3 Comments

