Skip to content

Monday Round Up (06.21.10)

June 20, 2010

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling (review to come)

Currently reading: Chantel’s Quest for the Enchanted Medallion by Oliver Neubert

Up next: I’m not sure yet, either Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban or a random selection from my tbr pile.

I also posted some thoughts on Anna Karenina, which I finished the week before.

.
sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

Yes, yes, yes I still have the book ban going on. But you see, I received some rather disappointing news on Monday. Don’t worry, everything’s okay, but the news called for a trip to the bookstore. Just walking in and inhaling that wonderful smell of new books and coffee had a great calming effect on me. Walking out 40 minutes later with a brand new book in hand had an even greater effect!

I picked up Please Forgive Me by Melissa Hill, which I’m thinking will make a great summer read!

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 8:18 pm

    I re-read the first Harry Potte book.

    Monday Morning Update 49

  2. June 20, 2010 9:07 pm

    I’ve been reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood books for the first time, but I think I’m going to take a break and read a YA (these books are GREAT, but really dark).

    I also take trips to the bookstore or library when I’m upset :)

  3. June 20, 2010 9:15 pm

    Books do have a calming feel to them don’t they? They are like therapy! Hope all is well and have a good week of great reads!

  4. June 20, 2010 9:29 pm

    Nothing like a book to be calmed down and relax with.

  5. June 20, 2010 9:33 pm

    I hope you enjoy your new book, it’s a great experience getting knew one! I finished the Chamber of Secrets this week as well. Im half way through Order of the Phoenix though, so I think Ill finish that off before I get into Prisoner fof Azkaban. Are you doing the Summer at Hogwarts readalong?

  6. June 20, 2010 9:49 pm

    I did so enjoy the entire Harry Potter series. Happy reading and happy choosing. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/06/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-21-june.html

  7. June 20, 2010 10:25 pm

    I also am addicted to the smell of books with coffee in the background. Might have to take a book over to the local store just to catch a wiff.

    Enjoy your week.

  8. June 20, 2010 11:38 pm

    I say read Azakaban. It is my favorite of all the Harry Potter books.

  9. June 21, 2010 1:46 am

    I have no restraint when it comes to buying books. I really need to find some though before I go broke. Have a great week. Chantel’s Quest for the Enchanted Medallion sounds very interesting.

  10. June 21, 2010 6:23 am

    I have to steer clear of book stores or walk in with cash in hand so I am not tempted to spend more – I know the feeling.

    Here is my Monday!

  11. June 21, 2010 6:25 am

    I love your taste in books. I am a big fan of both Tolstoy and J.K. Rowling. ;-)

  12. June 21, 2010 8:59 am

    I just gave you a “versatile blogger” award:

    http://emilyandherlittlepinknotes.com/2010/06/21/stylish-and-versatile-blogger-awards-part%C2%A0ii/

    I loved Harry Potter to the point that after reading the whole series I organized a weekend in Edinburgh

I <3 Comments

