Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Anna Karenina #3

June 11, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. If you’d like to join in, please either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

Current Read: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

One Sentence Summary: Russian high society in the mid/late 1800′s.

Soundtrack Song: “Thoughts Weigh Heavy… Don’t Get Drowned In The Weight Of It All” by Moneen, from the album Are We Really Happy With Who We Are Right Now?

Why I chose this song: I am so close to finishing Anna Karenina, and let me tell you, the last many pages are gripping. I don’t know if I can sum up Anna’s state of mind in the final chapters better than this song does. She’s so lost in her own thoughts, overwhelmed by her position and what she sees as a bleak future. Unfortunately, I searched high and low and cannot find a clip or video of the song anywhere. The internets have failed me. I wish you could all come over so I could play this song for you. We’d all gather around the stereo, and I’d read a passage of the book and go “See! See! It totally fits!”

Instead, here are the lyrics for the second half of the song:

If I feel this way, I’ll get drowned in the weight of it all.
If it’s too late, I’ll be drowned in the weight of it all.
And I need escape, or get drowned in the weight of it all.
I can’t explain, drowned in the weight of it all.

If feelings change, I can rise up and face
These strange ways that my mind sometimes takes.
Thoughts sway this way and out of my head, she said.

She said it, she said it all.
She said it, she said it all.
You’re too uptight, your perspective is off.
She said it all, or something like that.

Oh, I know I get drowned in the weight of it all.
It feels so small to get drowned in the weight of it all.
Relax, calm down and just listen close to the sound
Of her voice, a comfortable place I have found.
What would your lover say, drowned in the weight of it all.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 1:40 am

    I love your “soundtrack saturday” … this week I chose Chopin and I wrote a sort of confused dissertation on lightness

Trackbacks

  1. Soundtrack Saturday – A certain slant of light « Emily and Her Little Pink Notes

I <3 Comments

