Skip to content

P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern (final thoughts)

June 9, 2010

Grieving the death of her husband, Holly Kennedy is tired of hearing that time heals all while being offered a cup of tea. She wants to hold on to every shred of Gerry, fearful of what life without him looks like. However, shortly after Gerry’s death a package of letters arrive. Letters written by Gerry to be opened monthly by Holly, each with a different task. Each task was specifically designed by Gerry to help Holly live after his death.

This was my first Ahern and I think my expectations were set too high, because I did not love it as much as I thought I would. Actually, I didn’t love it, but thought it was just kind of okay. I had a hard time connecting with Holly, which made it hard to sympathize with her attempts to pull together. It seems wrong to judge someone’s grieving process, but seeing as she is a fictional character I feel okay saying that her waverings between ‘life is great!’ and ‘I cannot possibly ever go on’ seemed unrealistic, and slightly repetitive. I also found the resolution of Holly’s friendship with club owner Daniel unrealistic. Something about it just didn’t seem to fit what had been revealed about Daniel leading up to that point.

However, I picked up P.S. I Love You looking for something light and quick, and it definitely filled those requirements. Aside from my annoyances with Holly, it was a pleasant, and at times emotional, way to pass the time. The whole idea of the book is really sweet and I won’t lie, it made me tear up a couple times. I’m guessing that it was because of this potential that it was made into a movie. Which leads me to a couple questions:

Should I watch the movie? If you’ve read the book and seen the movie, which did you like best?
Are there any Ahern books  you would recommend over this one? I’ve heard so many great things about her, I’m hoping I just started with an off one.

My rating: 7/10

Related:
Soundtrack Saturday
Buy One Book and Read It 3/6

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 10:24 am

    I’ve seen the movie and read the book. The movie is nothing like the book. They made Holly an American, and her mom hated her husband. It’s worth a watch though just too see how different it is from the book-I can’t believe that the people who made the movie actually read the book. This is a light read-but I had to force myself to finish the book.

    • June 10, 2010 11:27 am

      Your comment reinforces my thought that the creators of the movie just thought “hey, that’s a neat idea!” and then built their own story around it. But hearing that the movie is much different than the book makes me want to see it even more.

  2. June 10, 2010 11:07 am

    The main reason why I’ve held of reading this book is, I figured I wouldn’t be able to relate to the protagonist (Holly) at all. Your review seems to re-instate that fact. :)

    • June 10, 2010 11:53 am

      I’m not sure what it was about Holly that made her difficult to relate to. It wasn’t necessarily what she was going through – I’ve read other books dealing with grieving a spouse that have cut me to heart with empathy. Either way, it seems the movie is the way to go with this story :)

  3. June 11, 2010 1:02 am

    I read “Love, Rosie” and I wasn’t impressed…it was boring, the “best friends’ life experiences routine” aka “harry meets sally” never fails to amuse me but this time it did

  4. June 22, 2010 8:52 am

    I liked the movie. Plus, Gerard Butler is reason enough in my book ;)

  5. January 22, 2011 12:30 pm

    I loved the movie. It’s a guaranteed weeper for me. There is a resemblance to the book, but I didn’t like the book nearly as well, which is unusual for me. I definitely recommend the movie.

Trackbacks

  1. The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern (thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

