Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

June 4, 2010

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. If you’d like to join in, please either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

Current Read: P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

One Sentence Summary: Holly is grieving the death of her husband, who was thoughtful enough to leave her notes to help her through the process.

Soundtrack Song: “Only In The Past” by The Be Good Tanyas, from the album Blue Horse.

Why I chose this song: One of the hardest things Holly has to deal with is that she won’t ever make any new memories with Gerry, that everything she had with him is now in the past. She dreams about him constantly but his image starts to fade with time, reaffirming the fact that Gerry is gone from her life. This song captures both that loss and the happy memories Holly is clinging to.

I dreamed that I saw you, you were down at the corner store
You were looking through magazines and you flew out the door
I was trying to wave to you but you wouldn’t wave back
Now you know I understand you’re with me only in the past

Colours streak the sky, we laugh and we cry
We dance in the cool grass with the fireflies
We dance in the cool grass, sunset birds
Sweet, sweet music swallow our words

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 8:18 am

    I love the whole concept behind Soundtrack Saturday!!! I think you’ve picked the best song for PS I Love You! :)

  2. June 7, 2010 9:19 pm

    We music lovers need to stick together! ;) I also tried to read this book (didn’t finish it), and I love your pick. Definitely fits the whole mood of Holly at the beginning of the novel.

  3. January 22, 2011 12:33 pm

    Actually, the soundtrack is one of the best reasons to see this movie. I’m not usually terribly aware of the soundtrack of any movie, but the use of the Pogues’ Fairytale of New York at Gerry’s wake is sheer brilliance.

I <3 Comments

