Skip to content

Wrapping Up May 2010

June 3, 2010

Before I go any further with stats and whatnot, I feel like I have to explain myself and my lack of completed books. At the beginning of May I started reading Anna Karenina knowing that it would take me a while to read, but it feels like it’s taking forever to get through. I’ve said this a few times over the last month, but I’ll say it again. I’m enjoying the book, but its never-endingness is making me not want to pick it up. So, even though I had a massive book on the go, I spent less time than usual reading during May.

I also took time away from reading to spend some extra time with family. My sister was in town for a few weeks before taking off again on her adventures. She might maybe be back for Christmas, so I tried to get some sister bonding time in while I could. Then at the end of May hubby & I went away for about a week to celebrate our second wedding anniversary. There was a bit of reading done on this trip because… hubby finally decided to read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone! I think he liked it, because one morning I woke up to find him reading in the dark.

Books finished:
Hard Eight by Janet Evanovich
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Took up most of my month and still reading:
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Bookish movies:
Becoming Jane
Lost in Austen
The Secret Life of Bees
Jane Eyre (BBC 2006)
(I shared notes on the first three here)

Soundtrack Saturdays
Anna Karenina #1
Anna Karenina #2
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Misc.
*I was featured at Reading With Tequila as part of her “Getting Random With…” feature.
*In anticipation of the tour I’m working on this summer, I’ve started counting down some of the artists I’m looking forward to seeing on it:

Challenges:
Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge 5/15
Buy One Book and Read It 2/6
Read Your Name Challenge 4/5
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge 12/25
YA Reading Challenge 10/12

How was your May? How do you determine whether or not a month was successful?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. taraSG permalink
    June 3, 2010 4:13 pm

    I don’t think that’s a bad month! I wish the hubs would try to read HP… alas I don’t think it will ever happen :(

    You can see how my month went here : http://www.25hourbooks.com/2010/06/monthly-roundup-may-2010/

    I consider it a successful month if I’ve read (and enjoyed) at least one book. If I read a lot more than that, GREAT! If not, I don’t let it bother me. I don’t want book blogger or reading to start to feel like a job where I have to reach quotas.

  2. June 3, 2010 6:56 pm

    I’m always pleased when I badger somebody into reading something, and then they like it (really like it is even better). I feel so justified. :p

  3. June 4, 2010 7:49 am

    Anna Karenina scares me and I’ve avoided it for quite some time so kudos to you for trudging through! :)

  4. June 4, 2010 3:21 pm

    I’m loving your concert excitement :D

I <3 Comments

