Skip to content

Monday Round Up (05.31.10)

May 30, 2010

I didn’t do a round up last week, so here’s everything book related that’s happened in the last two weeks.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Nothing :( I’m so ashamed.

Still reading (forever and ever): Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. It’s official, super long books are not for me. It really is a wonderful classic, but the fact that it never ends makes me not want to pick it up again.

Up next: And so, I’m going to take another quick break from AK and read something else. Using random.org, my next book will be…#2: PS. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern! Hrm, might not be such a quick break, but will definitely be a change of pace. I’ve never read anything by Ahern, but have been meaning to for a long time.

Library Loot is hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

For the read-a-thon in April I read Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster, and was told by many fellow read-a-thon participants that a movie had been made based on it. Even before I finished the book I knew I had to watch the movie. I quickly put my name on the wait list for it at the library, and finally this past week the lone copy in our library system came in for me. I’m very much looking forward to watching this 1955 musical sometime during the coming week.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

If you’ve been around here during the last month, you may remember that I’ve put myself on a new book ban. When I put the ban in place, I knew there would be a particular weekend coming up during which that ban would not apply. That weekend came last week, when hubby and I headed to the Oregon coast for our anniversary. Oregon coast = Portland day trip. Portland = Powell’s Books. Obviously. Even hubby bought two new books.

I walked out of Powell’s with these 3 new additions to my bookshelf:

The Truth About Forever by Sara Dessen (This will be my very first Dessen!)
Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin

We also came across this really cool used bookstore on the coast, which is just a renovated house in which every room has been outfitted with bookshelves. Including the former bathroom. Books everywhere – in the windows, on the stairs, in the hallway. It was a little bit overwhelming. Hubby’s theory is that some book lover’s collection got so out of control that they finally just decided to invite people in to buy some of the books. That might not be too far from the truth.

I came away from there with only one book:

A Wind in the Door by Madeleine L’Engle. I have A Wrinkle in Time on my shelf to reread, but I’ve never read this companion book.

Taste of the coast :)

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2010 6:55 pm

    Enjoy your books. I have four this week.

  2. May 30, 2010 7:40 pm

    Oh, I have been wanting to read Heart of the Matter, and it’s actually on my stack.

    Here’s mine:

    http://laurelrainsnowcreations.blogspot.com/2010/05/mailbox-monday_30.html

  3. May 30, 2010 8:17 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read some Cecelia Ahern – A friend highly recommends her.

    Here is my Monday: http://thelostentwife.net/2010/05/30/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-23/

  4. May 30, 2010 9:06 pm

    I love, love, love AK. Happy, happy reading! My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/05/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-31-may.html

  5. May 30, 2010 9:28 pm

    I’ll be eager to hear what you think of the book by Dessen. I have never read anything by her either. Nor have I ever tried to read Anna Karenina. I tend to avoid (make that – run screaming from) classics. I was a geography major in college not an English major. Happy reading!

  6. May 30, 2010 9:35 pm

    Love used book stores! How fun!

    I picked up Anna Karenina at the library but it frightens me….. not sure I have any hope at all of reading this book before it is due back. :)

  7. May 30, 2010 9:44 pm

    I remember reading in the Advance magazine a while back a write-up for a new book that I thought reminded me an awful lot like Daddy-Long-Legs (the movie, at that time I didn’t know a book existed). Now, I can’t remember the name of the modern retelling. Oh well, hope you enjoy the movie when you see it. It’s great!

  8. May 31, 2010 12:51 am

    That’s quite a bunch.

    Here’s mine for the week

  9. May 31, 2010 2:04 am

    So you got 4 new books? That’s pretty restrained. Well done! Let me tell you about MY acquisitions this week: NONE (and proud of it). :-)

    Read all about it here: http://leeswammes.wordpress.com

  10. May 31, 2010 2:59 am

    Daddy Long Legs is one of my favorite musicals. I grew up watching Fred Astaire and love Leslie Caron I hope you enjoy it.

  11. May 31, 2010 3:08 am

    I have been wanting to read PS. I Love You for awhile.

  12. May 31, 2010 5:28 am

    I’ve just got to the end of a fairly long book – Angelology – but it was a good read. I’ve decided to go with a shorter book for my current read, so it shouldn’t take me anywhere near as long to read!

  13. May 31, 2010 5:50 am

    I have yet to read any Tolstoy, big books intimidate me too LOL
    Happy reading, hope you love The Truth About Forever by Sara Dessen!

  14. May 31, 2010 6:42 am

    A Wrinkle in Time was a favorite of mine many years ago. I will have to go back an read A Wind in the Door!

    My What are you reading? is here.

    Happy Monday. :)

    xx,
    E.J
    From the Shadows

  15. May 31, 2010 7:31 am

    Rebecca is a wonderful book! Hope you enjoy it! And the others ;)

    Here’s mine if you’d like to drop by!

    Happy Monday!

    Sassy
    :)

  16. May 31, 2010 7:32 am

    I read Heart of the Matter and loved it. I hope you enjoy it as well.

  17. May 31, 2010 9:52 am

    Only 3 books at Powell’s? I think that totally counts as sticking to your ban. That’s positively heroic in my book!

  18. May 31, 2010 11:13 am

    I’ve actually decided to try just a chapter a night of AK. I’m about half way through, and I absolutely love it, but I don’t have the time to set aside all other reading to finish it anytime this month, lol. It’s sitting on my bedside table, and I managed to get through a couple of chapters this week.

    I look forward to seeing what you think of P.S. I Love You…I’m a big fan of the movie, and some day I’ll read the book!

    My week:
    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=1347

  19. Tara permalink
    May 31, 2010 11:26 am

    Definitely jealous of your trip to Powell’s!!! I live in the Midwest and have only been able to enjoy Powell’s through their website, but I have vowed one day I will get there!! And I don’t know how you managed to limit yourself to just three books :)

  20. May 31, 2010 6:12 pm

    I read Anna Karenina in college, which now seems kind of cruel – forcing students who also had to do reading for other classes to read such a long book! But it is a good book so it is worth it.

  21. May 31, 2010 10:34 pm

    I like using random.org to choose my next read too…once I’ve cleared my for review titles out of the way!

    I’ve never read Anna Karenina, but I have it. I will get to it someday. I saw the movie P.S. I love you. I wonder if the book is any good? I look forward to your review!

    Rebecca is an excellent book. That was a good buy for you. :)

    Happy reading!

  22. June 1, 2010 11:44 am

    I’ve read two books by Dessen and really enjoyed them both! I have The Truth About Forever waiting to be read on my shelf in my room so I can’t wait to see what you think.

  23. June 1, 2010 9:03 pm

    Used bookstores are a favorite of mine. Anna Karenina would take me a loooonnnggg time!
    Hope you have a good week this week.

I <3 Comments

