Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Anna Karenina #2

May 22, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

Current Read: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

One Sentence Summary: One sentence is pretty much impossible for this book. So. Russian high society in the mid/late 1800′s.

Soundtrack Song: “What Do You Need?” by The Goo Goo Dolls, from the album Gutterflower.

Why I chose this song: I’m about half way through Anna Karenina and *spoilers* the lyrics in this song seem to describe where Anna and Vronsky are in there relationship right now. The excitement of their affair has faded and the hopelessness of their situation as set in.

Fear makes you fragile darling
Hate is so heavy when you’re weak
Now we’re both lost in anger
When we’re alone we’ll find some peace

Why do we need to turn it on
Why does it always seem so wrong

What do you need from me tonight
The truth is so complicated now
You feel so free to say
You’re wrong, you’re wrong, you’re wrong

What Do You Need? by Goo Goo Dolls

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2010 4:20 pm

    I’ve been searching FOREVER to find a meme like this one. I was just about to start one myself when one of my readers told me that you did Soundtrack Saturdays. I’ll definitely be participating frequently in the future!

    P.S. I love your blog, and I just added it to my Google Reader! :)

  2. May 29, 2010 8:26 pm

    Awesome choice :)
    Your pretty brilliant ya know :)

I <3 Comments

