Skip to content

Monday Round Up (05.17.10)

May 16, 2010

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Still Reading: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

I took a short break from AK to start rereading the Harry Potter books. For the last couple years I’ve kept saying that I want to reread the entire series, but it’s one thing to say it and a totally different thing to actually do it. I had forgotten just how wonderful the first book is and how quickly J.K. Rowling draws you into the wizarding world.

Book ban update: 3 weeks with no new books! But, I did get some new music. I can’t remember the last time I actually went out and bought a physical copy of an album. So, I got two :)

Jonsi – Go. Checked it out on the recommendation of Nymeth, and knew it was an album I needed to own.
Sara Bareilles – Little Voice.

I also borrowed the 2006 BBC adaptation of Jane Eyre from the library. I’ve watched the first half of this 4-hour miniseries, and unfortunately am not enjoying it quite as much as the 1983 adaptation. Do you have a favourite Jane Eyre adaptation?

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 10:13 pm

    Oh now, I really love the 2006 adaptation. It’s the only one where I thought the actress got Jane right. But I know that the 2006 version is divisive, especially with some of the liberties it takes – the second half is probably where many of the objections arise. I was not a fan of the 1983 version. Yes, it’s probably the one that is the most faithful to the original book, but I couldn’t stand the actress who played Jane in that one. (Sorry – I know that you liked that version.)

    I’ve also seen the 1996 version with William Hurt and Charlotte Gainsbourg, the 1997 version with Ciaran Hinds and Samantha Morton and the 1944 version with Orson Welles and Joan Fontaine. The feature films collapse plotlines out of necessity, but it usually means important stuff is lost. The 1944 version doesn’t have St. John in it for example. Usually, the actors don’t have trouble portraying Mr. Rochester, but I think it’s the easier character to perform.

  2. May 17, 2010 12:51 am

    I cannot say this enough times in my life, Anna Karenina is my all time favourite novel! Harry Potter is always a delight to read. It looks as though you have a great line-up for this week and nothing beats Tolstoy. Happy reading. If you have time, my Monday is here: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/05/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-17-may.html

  3. May 17, 2010 2:11 am

    Jane Eyre is one of my all time favorite reads, but I do not have a favorite adaptation of it. Somehow I always feel let down by the movies. Although I do love the BBC’s adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. Need to rent this sometime soon as the only one they show anymore is the more recent remake and it is not as good. Have a great week.

  4. May 17, 2010 5:09 am

    I keep hearing about Anna Karenina. I wonder if it’s something I enjoy…. I’ll await your review!

  5. May 17, 2010 6:13 am

    It’s Monday!

    My What are you reading? is here.

    Happy Monday. :)

    xx,
    E.J.

    p.s. I don’t think I could do a book ban on new books for that long! ;)

  6. May 17, 2010 9:47 am

    Congrats on the book ban! I’m going to be trying to do that as well… though I may get some from paperbackswap as some have been on my WL YEARS!
    I’ve been meaning to read Harry Potter but it just gets put off. There are just so many books to read!
    Congrats on Anna Karenina! I hear it’s a good read, but quite heavy. One day I may get to it.
    Happy Reading!

  7. May 17, 2010 10:03 am

    I just picked up Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban on audio from the library this morning. I have all the books but have been really enjoying listening to them. The reader is fantastic and they are so much fun for road trips.

  8. May 17, 2010 10:08 am

    I’ve read the first three Harry Potter novels several times and the fourth one maybe three times. The ones after that I’ve only read the once. Not sure why that is, except for book five. I know the answer to that one, it just seemed like such an angry book and I didn’t want to do that again.

  9. May 17, 2010 12:14 pm

    I love the HP books! They are a delight to reread and listen to (I live in the States so we have Jim Dale for the narrator). I read Anna Karenina in high school but I need to reread it sometime (that was way too many years ago)

    I like Sara Bareilles too. My favorite is Love Song.

    I have only watched the 1996 and 2006 adaptations of Jane Eyre and I preferred the 2006 version regardless of the flaws. I was not a fan of William Hurt but I do like Toby Stephens which could account for my positive views on that version :)

    I hope you have a great week!

  10. May 17, 2010 1:01 pm

    I love both Anna Karenina and Harry Potter. :-) Enjoy!

  11. stacybuckeye permalink
    June 1, 2010 10:41 am

    The 1983 version of Jane Eyre is my favorite of the four I’ve seen. Here’s where I ranked
    them. http://stacybuckeye.wordpress.com/2009/06/27/jane-eyre-2006-movie/

I <3 Comments

