Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

May 14, 2010

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

Current Read: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

One Sentence Summary: On his eleventh birthday, orphaned Harry not only finds out he’s a wizard, but a famous one at that.

Soundtrack Song: “This Isn’t Hogwarts!” by Hank Green

Why I chose this song: Usually I pick a song that fits with a scene or the feel of the book. In case case, I’m going with something that’s fun to listen to while you’re reading and will keep you in the Harry Potter spirit long after you’ve finished.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 10:26 pm

    I’ve never heard this one before :)

  2. justbookreading permalink
    May 16, 2010 5:54 am

    Good one! :-)

  3. May 18, 2010 6:49 pm

    The fact that there are Harry Potter bands is awesome.

    I couldn’t think of a song/book pairing on Saturday, but as I was reading today, a song popped up on Pandora that perfectly matched the mood.

    I’m reading Tove Jannson’s The Summer Book, which has a contemplative, melancholy/happy tone. A grandmother and her granddaughter (whose mother has died) spend their summer together on an island off of Finland.

    The song is Erik Satie’s Gnossiennes no. 5, which is all the adjectives I used above for the book’s tone:

  4. May 18, 2010 7:29 pm

    on saturday, i was reading a memoir by diablo cody about her year as a stripper. the number one song to strip to (in 2003) was r. kelly’s remix to ignition. i couldn’t remember the song so i played it on youtube. it didn’t sound very ‘strippy’ to me, lol. then again, what would i know?

    how’s that for a book pairing? :)

  5. May 20, 2010 3:51 am

    I am reading “Catching Fire” and constantly playing the Rage Against The Machine in my ipod, explosive combination (And now you do what they told ya)

  6. May 29, 2010 5:01 pm

    Juju – You should check out some of Hank Green’s other songs – or at least his many youtube videos with John Green :)

    justbookreading – Thanks!

    Christy – It’s so pretty! I got completely lost in the song and forgot that I was responding to comments :)

    nat – Hehe. I’m no expert in that field, but it doesn’t sound too strippy to me either. Also, ‘strippy’ needs to be a real word.

    Emily – Rage Against the Machine fits so well with the Hunger Games books! Why didn’t I think of them when I read the books?? ;)

I <3 Comments

