Skip to content

Tour Countdown #1: Sarah McLachlan

May 12, 2010
tags:

6 weeks ’till Lilith time!

A while back I made a little announcement about my summer plans. In anticipation of the rapidly approaching tour, I’m going to countdown some of the artists I’m looking forward to seeing. In no particular order. Now, there’s a fairly good chance I won’t actually have time to watch any of them, but hopefully I’ll be able to catch strains of their music as I run like mad through each venue :)

To start things off, let’s state the obvious. Sarah McLachlan. I remember listening to Surfacing on repeat in high school, especially the song “Do What You Have To Do.” Plus there are so many hits on that album, like Angel and Adia. I’ve been able to see her play twice over the last couple years, and she’s so fantastic live. She just seems like a really down-to-earth person.

A new Sarah single was just released, “Loving You Is Easy,” and I’m loving its poppy happiness. I’m really looking forward to hearing the full new album in its entirety.

What’s your favourite Sarah McLachlan song? Have you seen her live?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 7:52 am

    “Do What You Have to Do” is one that I play over and over also! I love Sarah, but have never seen her live. Someday! I like her new song. She always seems to change things up a bit without losing her own unique sound.

  2. May 12, 2010 12:20 pm

    Oooh, Sarah! Love her. I haven’t thought about “Do What You Have To Do” in years, but that was always one of my favorites. Her music is so moody and atmospheric.

    I’ve seen Sarah twice in concert — both times with my dad and in Philadelphia. We drove almost three hours to see her and had a great time! For the second show, we even got floor seats. I love her live rendition of “Blackbird,” which was also on the B-sides album she put out a few years ago.

  3. stacybuckeye permalink
    May 14, 2010 7:55 am

    I love whatever Sarah does (even those very sad commercials) and would love to see her in concert someday.

  4. May 14, 2010 12:57 pm

    I don’t know if I have a favorite but I do believe the most memorable lyrically for me is “Ice Cream”. I love the opening line, “Your love is better than ice cream…better than anything else that I’ve tried.” I love that! :)

  5. May 14, 2010 1:01 pm

    However, Possession is pretty grand. Man I’m showing my age again ;)

  6. May 14, 2010 1:04 pm

    Oooo and When She Loved Me from Toy Story 2 makes me cry
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jlIJUAkWQUs)

  7. May 14, 2010 4:08 pm

    Shelley – There’s definitely a unique Sarah-ness to everything she does :)

    Meg – “Blackbird” is on of my favourites of hers, too. You’re lucky you’ve been able to see her twice. Isn’t she great live?

    stacybuckeye – If you ever get the chance to see her, do it!

    Juju – Oh, I love “Ice Cream” too. When I saw her play last September, she closed her set with that song, ah! it was so good. It seems much more upbeat live. I completely forgot about “When She Loved Me” – it’s such a sweet song.

I <3 Comments

