Skip to content

Monday Round Up (05.10.10)

May 9, 2010

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Hard Eight by Janet Evanovich (review to come)

Started: I finished up Hard Eight early in the week, and used random.org to pick my next book. And what came up? Anna Karenina by Tolstoy. Gulp. So daunting, especially after a Stephanie Plum. I had to fight the urge to pick a new number. But I stuck with it and you know what? I’m really enjoying it! After tweeting that Anna Karenina was up next, Jennifer said that I wouldn’t be able to put it down. She was totally right. But, it is going to take a while to get through.

Up next: As much as I’m enjoying Anna Karenina, long books make me antsy, so I’ll likely take a break from it later in the week. I’m thinking of rereading the Harry Potter books, alternating them between new books. If I do break from AK this week, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone will be up next.

In other book news, the book-acquisition ban is going well. Two weeks now with no new books, so no Library Loot or Mailbox Monday to include today.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 12:05 am

    Anna Karenina does sound good. I will read it one day!

  2. May 10, 2010 2:14 am

    Thanks Alita! Because of you I found out about this Monday event, so I posted my first Monday blog today: http://leeswammes.wordpress.com.

    Good of you to instigate a book-acquisition ban! Keep it up!

  3. May 10, 2010 2:16 am

    I have never read any of Tolstoy, I agree with the daunting aspect of the his works, but I think maybe it is time to attempt one and I think Anna Karenina is the place to begin. Glad you enjoyed it. Have a great week.

  4. May 10, 2010 6:30 am

    I love Tolstoy, and i love Harry Potter too. ;-) The Janet Evanovich novels are good reads. Have a great week!

  5. May 10, 2010 7:07 am

    Now I want to read Anna Karenina! Have a fun reading week ;)

  6. May 10, 2010 9:22 am

    Your really sticking to the plan that is awesome! I hope you enjoy your reads….

  7. May 10, 2010 4:05 pm

    Ooooohh there is a Library Loot meme. Who hosts it? Cause it sounds like fun. I should probably do a book acquisition ban like you are and instead I am looking at another meme oh boy. I am also curious about random.org so I will have to check that out later too.

  8. May 10, 2010 7:57 pm

    evanovich to tolstoy? hilarious! glad you enjoyed stephanie and ranger…i’m a jersey girl and always get a kick out of those books even if they are pretty formulaic by now. good luck with anna!

  9. May 10, 2010 10:00 pm

    I’ve been thinking about picking up Android Karenina when it comes out and was wondering it I should read Tolstoy’s before or after the mash-up. I loved the Pride, Prejudice and Zombies mash-up, but then I’d read the original ages ago.

Trackbacks

  1. What I’m Reading This Week « Anna Marie's Corner

I <3 Comments

