Skip to content

Wrapping Up April 2010

May 3, 2010

Wow, April is over already? It went by in a blur of eating, reading, and birthdaying. All good things! I had my best reading month in a while, which definitely had something to do with the 24hr read-a-thon. This was my second read-a-thon, but my first time being a reader (as well as a cheerleader), and it was a blast. You can check out my read-a-thon updates here, and the mini-challenge I hosted here. The day after the read-a-thon was my birthday, and well, I wasn’t too awake for it. But I had a fun day with the hubby and family, and they were kind and gave me books and bookish accessories. It was quite wonderful.

In addition to my birthday book loot, I had a flurry of contest wins arrive over the month. The result was an overflowing TBR pile, which had me in somewhat of a panic. So, I’ve put myself on a book-aquistion ban, until my TBR pile can at least all fit on the designated TBR shelf. So that means no library borrowing, no buying, and no entering contests for the next month or so. I have one more contest win still on it’s way to me, but I think that should be it for a while. While it’s kind of sad not to have anything arrive in the mail, I’m excited about all the fantastic books waiting for me that I’ve been neglecting for too long.

With this plan to cut down my TBR pile, I’m trying out a new reading system. I’m usually a mood reader, but I’ve decided to let random.org make my reading choices for me. So far, so good! It’s exciting each time I pick a new book :)

I hope you had a fantastic April! Here’s a quick summary of what went on over here:

Books finished:
Before I Forget by Melissa Hill
Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster – Soundtrack Song
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
Uglies by Scott Westerfled – Soundtrack Song
The Secret Shopper’s Revenge by Kate Harrison – Soundtrack Song
Damas, Dramas, and Ana Ruiz by Belinda Acosta – Soundtrack Song

Did not finish: Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill

Favourite book: Before I Forget by Melissa Hill

Least favourite book: Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill

Top search term: Pride and Prejudice

Challenges:
Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge 5/15
Buy One Book and Read It 2/6
Read Your Name Challenge 4/5
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge 11/25
YA Reading Challenge 9/12

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 7:16 pm

    nice wrap up! you managed to make me feel slightly slothful over here. i really should keep better track of my monthly reads but can’t muster the strength to do so. instead, i’ll leave you in charge of being organized for both of us. :) glad you had a happy birthday and wish you many more!

  2. May 4, 2010 2:36 am

    Your system of letting randon.org choose your next books sounds fascinating. I might have to try it once, see if it’d make it easier to get through the books I own and haven’t read (there’re too many of them).

  3. May 4, 2010 5:21 am

    You did have a great month of books! Congrats on all the contest wins!

  4. May 4, 2010 10:46 am

    I’ve thought of letting a randomizer decide on my next reads, but I bet I wouldn’t stick to it. You’ve had a great month, though!

    Did you mean to write “Pride and Prejucide”? Because I seriously want “prejucide” to be a word now, for something that kills your previously-held biases.

    • May 4, 2010 10:58 am

      Ack, how did I not catch that! Definitely did not mean to type Prejucide, but it’s much more entertaining :D It should be word – let’s just say it is, kay?

  5. May 5, 2010 1:34 pm

    Looks like some great books! Congrats!!!

  6. May 6, 2010 10:16 am

    Oh you had a good month! I’m glad to read you had so much fun with the read-a-thon – how I wish I could have join the fun!

    And letting random.org pick your reading? Awesome idea! Can I be inspired and do the same?

    • May 6, 2010 12:06 pm

      Yes, be inspired by my indecision! :) But be warned, it might mean that one day you’re reading light chick lit, and the next you’re reading Tolstoy.

I <3 Comments

