Skip to content

Monday Round Up (05.03.10)

May 2, 2010

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Damas, Dramas, and Ana Ruiz by Belinda Acosta (review to come)

Started: Hard Eight by Janet Evanovich. I broke my random selection streak for this one, if you can call two books a streak. I had my wisdom teeth pulled on Friday and knew I wasn’t going to be able to handle anything that involved too much thinking. I almost brought Hard Eight back to the library unread last week, but I’m so glad I hung on to it a while later. Stephanie Plum is perfect recovery reading.

Up next: Going back to picking books from my tbr list using random.org, so anything could be up next! I decided on this selection method a couple weeks ago, if you want you can read all about it here. I’ve also put myself on a book-acquisition ban, and….

Library Loot is hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

Guys, I didn’t get any new books last week! Chapters even had a huge 1/2 off sale over the weekend, and I resisted! Or, I was still in too much pain from having my wisdom teeth pulled to do much of anything. And maybe my mom went and bought a couple books from my to-read list that she might perhaps add to my library in the future.

But, I did pick up some movies from the library for my recuperation, all of which I watched over the weekend.

Becoming Jane – This was okay. I want to believe its meh-ness was due in part to my being hopped up on T3’s and residual anaesthesia, but I have an inkling they actually made me enjoy the movie more than I would have otherwise.
Lost in Austen – Now this was the enjoyment level I was expecting from Becoming Jane. I was expecting nothing from this one and was totally blown away. This 3hr miniseries was full of awesome, lots of giggles and lots of warm fuzzies. Anyone who has enjoyed books like Austenland or Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict really needs to watch this miniseries.
His Girl Friday – What’s recuperation time without a classic black & white? Pretty useless, that’s what. This 1940’s comedy was okay, but it really bugged me that the strong heroine turned spineless, and then the movie was over.
The Secret Lives of Bees – Loved the book when I read it a few years ago and have been wanting to see the movie ever since it came out. Movies rarely are as good as the book, which I thought was also true in the case. However, it was a sweet movie and I’m glad I finally got around to watching it.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 10:12 pm

    Wow, sounds liek you were on an Austen kick! That sounds like my kind of week :-)

    I really want to read The Secret Lives of Bees now. It sounds pretty good.

  2. May 3, 2010 2:13 am

    Secret Life of Bee is a fabulous book. I still have never seen the movie though and need to rent it sometime. I am an old black and white movie buff and love His Girl Friday, but then at the time it was made the feminist movement was not up and running so the ending really didn’t bother me. Have a great week.

  3. May 3, 2010 5:41 am

    Okay, this is kinda not really related, but OMG THERE WAS A SALE AT CHAPTERS THIS WEEKEND AND I DIDN’T KNOW?!?!?! Is this available in Ontario?? wtf omg I can’t believe I missed it, do you think the sale will still last??

    *coughs* Anyhow, I’m totally amused at your Austen spree. 8D

  4. May 3, 2010 6:04 am

    I hope you recover quickly! I need to have my wisdom teeth taken out too but I chickened out and haven’t done it.

    I didn’t really care for Becoming Jane either. I did like Lost in Austen and The Secret Life of Bees.

    I hope you enjoy whatever you decide to read this week.

  5. May 3, 2010 6:51 am

    OK, too funny! I pick my next read randomly using random.org, too! LOL I am so glad to meet someone who does it too! ;-)

    I’ve got Lost in Austen waiting in my instant queue on Netflix. I think I might have to watch it this week!

    I watched The Secret Life of Bees, this week, too. I wasn’t too impressed, and it honestly had somewhat extinguished any desire I had to read the book. I’ve heard the book is really good, though, so maybe I’ll pick it up sometime.

  6. May 3, 2010 7:00 am

    Can’t go wrong with an Austen week! I didn’t enjoy Becoming Jane at all, but Lost in Austen made me giggle and I enjoyed it.

    Here is my Monday: http://thelostentwife.net/2010/05/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-19/

  7. May 3, 2010 7:51 am

    I loved both the book and the movie of Secret Life of Bees…

    All the Jane Austen type books look intriguing. The closest I’ve come is the Jane Austen Book Club.

    I saw Becoming Jane at the theater.

    Have a great week! Thanks for visiting my blog.

  8. May 3, 2010 8:15 am

    I’m sad you didn’t like His Girl Friday! I mean I never care much about Cary Grant (he was funny in Bringing Up Baby though), but Rosalind Russell and Ralph Bellamy were both quite delightful. It’s one of my favorite old movies. :)

  9. May 3, 2010 11:39 am

    I’m sensing an Austen theme… maybe it’s just me. :)

  10. May 3, 2010 2:34 pm

    I love that you are using random.org to pick books! So creative, especially when your piles are overflowing! Great list of movies too! Love that.

    Hope you have a fabulous reading week!

  11. May 3, 2010 2:56 pm

    I never have any trouble bringing books into the house… I think they follow me home. :) Sounds like you had a good movie weekend – I love those! I watched Avatar yesterday and on Friday we went to the movie Date Night which cracked me up.

    Hope you have a super week :)

  12. May 3, 2010 4:08 pm

    It sounds like you had an Austen Fest:) That was a wonderful way to recover:) hmmm wonder if I need some wisdom teeth pulled? LOL! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Have a great reading week!

  13. May 3, 2010 4:09 pm

    So glad you liked Lost in Austen. Wasn’t that scene he emerges from the water ultra hot?

  14. May 3, 2010 5:32 pm

    Becky (Page Turners) – Yes, definitely read the book! And before watching the movie :)

    Jan@eatingyabooks – The Secret Lives of Bees movie was okay, I’m glad it’s one I could pick up at the library. For free.

    Ah Yuan // wingstodust – LOL! I have no idea if it’s still on. My mom called me about it on Thursday, but had to decline on her offer to check it out.

    Christina T – Thanks! I’ve been putting off this surgery for a while, but had to finally go through with it because silly wisdom teeth kept giving me headaches :( At least I’ve been able to have lots of milkshakes the past few days!

    Heather – Yay, another random reader! You should definitely give The Secret Lives of Bees (the book version) a chance. It was way better than the movie.

    Lydia – I was surprised at how much Lost in Austen made me giggle!

    laurelrainsnow – I highly recommend Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict for an Austen-themed book. It was a delightful read :)

    Jenny – I liked most of the movie, when Rosalind Russell was all ‘I’m smart and strong and going to do things my way.’ But the end left me kind of sour when she trots off dutifully after Cary Grant. I do still need to watch Bringing Up Baby, though.

    Alayne – It was totally an accident, but totally fun!

    The1stdaughter – It’s making the reading selection process so much easier! Not that finding something to read is ever difficult…

    Bookjourney – I stil haven’t watched Avatar, but I keep hearing such good things about it! Maybe when it’s available at the library… ;)

    Bobbie – Ha! If you can pull an Austen-themed weekend without having to get your wisdom teeth pulled, I would highly recommend going that route!

    Juju – That scene had me in fits of giggles! But yes…soo hot :)

  15. May 7, 2010 7:47 pm

    The dialogue in His Girl Friday is a little too rapid-fire for me to enjoy, but I enjoy seeing Grant, Russell and Bellamy at work.

I <3 Comments

