Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Damas, Dramas, and Ana Ruiz

May 1, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

Current Read: Damas, Dramas, and Ana Ruiz by Belinda Acosta

One Sentence Summary: Ana Ruiz is trying to deal with the separation from her husband, an angsty teenage daughter, and the effect the visiting artist at the university she works at is having on her.

Soundtrack Song: “Gravity” by Sara Bareilles

Why I chose this song: I wanted to pick something more Latino, but then I came across thing song and thought it fit so perfectly with Ana. She feels some sort of gravitational pull towards both her husband Esteban and Montalvo, the visiting artist, each in different ways. With Esteban, it’s their history and what has been. With Montalvo it’s the new possibilities and feelings he’s awoken. But in both cases there’s a pull in the opposite direction, the voice of reason telling Ana to be sensible and responsible.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 5:11 am

    So how do you like the book thus far.

    • May 1, 2010 9:03 am

      I actually liked it a lot more than I thought I would. Full review will hopefully be up soon :)

  2. May 1, 2010 9:30 am

    As this is the third time I’m participating, obviously I like this feature of yours! I like this matching of music and books. :) Nice choice with yours and the Sara Bareilles song. I like the title of the book you’re reading and am interested to read the review.

    My book: Mouse Guard Fall 1152 by David Petersen. It’s a graphic novel about guard mice who protect travelers and traders who must go between the farflung mouse villages. I don’t read a lot of graphic novels but I was attracted by the illustrations of the cute, fierce mice.

    The song: El Pico by Ratatat. The groove seemed like it could accompany the pictures of the guard mice as they fight off snakes and traitorous mice.

    • May 5, 2010 1:20 pm

      Thanks for joining in again! I can definitely imagine little fighter mice marching along to this song. I don’t read many graphic novels either, but your description of this one really makes me want to check it out!

  3. May 5, 2010 3:50 am

    I need to look in to this book. :)

  4. May 5, 2010 6:08 pm

    I love this song! Sara Bareilles is amazing. Looks like it was the perfect fit for the book too!

I <3 Comments

