Skip to content

Monday Round Up (04.26.10)

April 25, 2010

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
The Secret Shopper’s Revenge by Kate Harrison (review to come)

Started: I’m keeping up with the plan I started last week, to use random.org to pick which book I read next off my towering TBR list. The winner was #1 – Damas, Dramas, and Ana Ruiz by Belinda Acosta.

Up next: Who knows?? Could be anything from my TBR list :D

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

You may remember that last week I put myself on a book-acquisition ban, so why am I including a Mailbox section? Have I slipped already? Don’t worry, I have excuses explanations.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, illustrated by Camille Rose Garcia. I won this over at Oodles of Books and knew it was coming before I decided on the ban. Can I just say how excited I am to have this edition of the book in my possession? Seriously, it is amazing.

Chantel’s Quest for the Enchanted Medallion by Oliver Neubert. I also won this before the ban (in a twitter contest from Bookworming in the 21st Century), but, erm, kind of forgot it was coming. It looks like a fun adventure, plus the author is local, which makes me even more excited to read it.

Heat Wave by Richard Castle. Um. Well. Let’s see. There was still a little bit of money left on one of my birthday gift cards that I had to use up so I wouldn’t be tempted to buy more books in the future? I forgot to pick it up during my shopping spree the week before? I blame JuJu and her persuasive review? Okay, so I don’t really have a good reason for this one, but doesn’t it look fun??

To top of the week, this fantastic mug arrived! I won it as part of a Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy prize pack from 25 Hour Books. It’s already been put to good use :)

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?



28 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 8:03 pm

    I have Heatwave in my TBR pile. Happy reading !

  2. April 25, 2010 8:05 pm

    Totally hear you on the Katniss/Uglies thing!

    Here is my Monday: http://thelostentwife.net/2010/04/25/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-18/

  3. April 25, 2010 8:10 pm

    Have a great reading week!

  4. April 25, 2010 8:46 pm

    I hadn’t realized that Heat Wave was an actual book. I might have to pick it up for fun just like you. Sounds like you have some good reads for the week. Enjoy.

    My list will post at midnight.

  5. April 25, 2010 9:24 pm

    Ooh I’ve been wanting to read the Uglies series for a while now, did you enjoy it? Have a wonderful reading week and congrats on your book wins!

  6. April 25, 2010 9:34 pm

    What a clever idea on picking books! Sounds like you have a great plan…Hope you enjoy your reads!

  7. April 26, 2010 1:22 am

    That’s a great mug! Hitchhikers Guide to the Glaxaxy is hilarious! I hope yuo have a good week.

  8. April 26, 2010 2:24 am

    I read Uglies long before The Hunger Games and Catching Fire and while I see the similarities you picked up on I have a hard time camparing the two girls since their situations were so different. I also think if you read Special some of the things that weren’t explained or let you hanging will become clearer. Good review though. Have a great week.

  9. April 26, 2010 4:42 am

    I beat Heat Wave is a lot of fun! Have a great week in books!

  10. April 26, 2010 5:15 am

    Love the TBR pile selection method ;) That Alice book looks amazing, what an amazing win!!

    Happy reading, whatever you pick :)

  11. April 26, 2010 6:18 am

    Oh, Heat Wave by Richard Castle! I didn’t realize that there really were Richard Castle books! I watch that show.

    I reread Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass recently…for a challenge. What fun! And so different from how I felt about it as a kid.

    Have a great week.

  12. April 26, 2010 6:24 am

    You had a good week! Happy reading. My mailbox is at The Crowded Leaf.

  13. April 26, 2010 7:27 am

    I have read Uglies and enjoyed the read. My daughter as read the whole series, liked all the books.

    Have a great week!

  14. April 26, 2010 7:55 am

    Fun idea to use the random generator to pick your books – keeps it exciting!

    I am finishing up The Girls from Ames this week!

  15. April 26, 2010 8:08 am

    Love the cute mug! I’ve been wanting to reread Alice. I hope you enjoy all your new reads!

  16. April 26, 2010 8:25 am

    That mug is too cute! I’m envious and I’m not even the biggest Douglas Adams fan!

  17. April 26, 2010 9:06 am

    I’ve had a 2-month self-imposed book buying moratorium going on since March. It’s killing me. Seriously. But one day I looked at my overflowing shelves and thought this is so dumb. I should be reading what I have, not buying books and throwing them on the shelves for later. It’s actually been a good experience, although it’s all I can do not to hit that “buy now” button at Amazon. Just a week or so now, and I’m home free, but I think I’ll still keep my book-buying crave at bay for a while longer.

  18. April 26, 2010 9:12 am

    I like the .org plan. Damas and Dramas was a fun read – I hope you enjoy it! :D

  19. April 26, 2010 9:45 am

    I’d like to read the original Alice in Wonderland.

  20. April 26, 2010 11:53 am

    I want to read Heatwave also due to Juju’s review. Good blaming her lol

    My post

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/04/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  21. April 26, 2010 12:17 pm

    I read your review of Uglies and can see what you were saying. I read Uglies and Catching Fire far enough apart that the comparison didn’t occur to me. I’m glad you liked it.

    I like your system to pick your next book. I am such a mood reader that I just browse among the TBR books to find my next read. I also try to alternate adult and young adult books. Right now I am concentrating on the adult books because I have so many that I really want to read.

    Happy reading!

  22. April 26, 2010 1:27 pm

    There’s always a way to acquire new books despite limits we try to put on ourselves! Have you ever heard of PaperBack Swap? If you haven’t, it’s basically what it sounds like – exchanging of books without any charge other than postage. I’ve been using their website for a few years and love it!

  23. April 26, 2010 1:52 pm

    Zia – Yay, I hope you enjoy it!

    Lydia – Ha, thanks! I really should have put more distance between those two books.

    Cat – Thanks, you too!

    Deb & laurelrainsnow – There’s even another one coming out – Naked Heat! When explaining this purchase to my husband, I even used that as an excuse: “I have to get it before the sequel comes out and they stop selling the first one.” lol! I love the show, and the book apparently reads just like an episode.

    Teddyree – It wasn’t quite as amazing as I thought it would be, but I did really enjoy it and will most definitely be reading the next book in the series. After I’ve made a dent in my tbr pile, of course ;)

    Heidi V. – Thanks – I like the surprise of finding out which book I’ll be reading next!

    Becky – I still haven’t read Hitchhikers! I’m hoping it’s randomly selected from my tbr pile soon :)

    Jan – I probably wouldn’t have even noticed any similarities between the characters if I hadn’t read the books so close together. I tried to put Katniss out of my mind during Uglies, but Catching Fire was so fresh in my mind, that it took a bit of work. I really did like who Tally was by the end of the book and I’m really looking forward to seeing how the story progresses.

    bermudaonion – I’m really hoping it is!

    Mel – I had too many books on there that I had been putting off for too long, and I really wanted to read all of them. Obviously picking an order myself was impossible lol.

    Alayne – Thanks :)

  24. April 26, 2010 2:04 pm

    ibeeeg – It really seems like a fun series! I’m looking forward to the rest of the books :)

    Ellie – It is exciting – it’s like a mini-contest each time. I should start doing drum rolls.

    Beth – Thanks! I’m looking forward to reading all of them :)

    Jenny – It is so freaking cute. All our other mugs are jealous now, but they’re just going to have to get used to being neglected.

    nancyo – I actually haven’t set a time limit to my ban. I just want to be able to fit all my tbr books on my designated tbr shelf again! :) Keep strong in resisting new books!!

    Bookjourney – I just started it, but am enjoying it so far.

    Kim V – I’ve never read it before, which makes me even more excited to read this edition!

    Marce – Ha! Glad I’m not the only one she persuaded!

    Kathy – I’m usually a mood reader, but recently I became so overwhelmed by the sheer size of my tbr pile that I realized it didn’t matter which I read first, as long as I was shrinking the size of the pile.

    Samantha – I did look into PaperBack Swap a while back, but wasn’t able to join because I live in Canada. At that time I wasn’t able to find anything similar within Canada, but I should take up that search again!

  25. April 26, 2010 2:12 pm

    Oh I love the random.org idea. It inspired me to go start a TBR page on my blog so that I can try that out when I start getting bored with my series.

    Have a good reading week!

  26. April 26, 2010 6:40 pm

    I’m always in awe of people who can follow a ban. I have no self control, so… And is that hot cocoa in that mug? Yummmmmmm.

  27. April 27, 2010 8:33 am

    Okay, I will fully admit that I have come really close to buying Heat Wave a dozen times. In fact, if it were more popular and at my local book store, I’d have it by now. I just keep forgetting to add it to my Amazon cart when I’ve ordered other things.

    I’m actually interested in it because I watch the show Castle every week, and I love that it’s a book written by the character, Richard Castle, played by Nathan Fillion. Who is on my Would Marry List, btw.

    I don’t know anyone who has actually *read* the book, so I look forward to seeing what you think of it…maybe I’ll see if I can find it on paperbackswap, lol.

Trackbacks

  1. Friday, June 25, 2010 « The Daily Alita

I <3 Comments

