Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – The Secret Shopper’s Revenge

April 24, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

Current Read: The Secret Shopper’s Revenge by Kate Harrison

One Sentence Summary: Down on their luck, Emily, Sandie, and Grazia come together as undercover Secret Shoppers.

Soundtrack Song: “Secret Agent Man” by Johnny Rivers

Why I chose this song: If this book was ever turned into a movie, I could totally picture this song being used over a montage of the women learning how to use their hidden cameras, the blunders and successes of their first few assignments, then coming together to stealthy watch their footage at the back of a local cafe.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 5:27 pm

    It’s almost been three years since I applied for my position at L’Arche. In preparation for the hoped-for interview I ordered “Becoming Human” by Jean Vanier, the founder of L’Arche. I found the book amazingly inspiring but was concerned that his philosophy of mutuality and the community ideals weren’t easily transferred into real life. I got the job and found out that Jean’s vision does work, and I now I have the privilege of working in a nourishing relationship-based environment. However, I didn’t quite finish reading the book. So I picked it up again this week to finish the last couple of chapters.

    The music I’ve chosen to go with Jean’s book is “The Servant Song”. Jean has been a servant-leader at L’Arche and it is only in this spirit of servanthood that L’Arche works.

  2. April 25, 2010 8:46 pm

    That would be a cute montage idea!

    I’m reading a suspense book called “Dead Run” by P. J. Tracy where three women (a cop and two members of a tech team who help solve crimes) get stranded in a small Wisconsin town that seems to be eerily devoid of its residents. And then they witness a double homicide and they have to figure out how they are going to escape. Meanwhile the colleagues of the women are desperately trying to find them. I was listening to the second album by a group called Dirt Poor Robins while reading it. The lyrics may not exactly fit, but the tone certainly did for me. One of the best songs – “Human After All” – can be found on the band’s myspace page: http://www.myspace.com/dirtpoorrobins

    • April 26, 2010 2:08 pm

      The tone of that song definitely seems to fit the creepiness you described from the book! Love the match! And very much liking this song. Will be checking out more of their stuff :)

Trackbacks

  1. The Secret Shopper’s Revenge by Kate Harrison (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

