Skip to content

YA x3 (final thoughts)

April 20, 2010

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

A child prodigy, it seems Colin’s potential peaked before he even completed high school. Coupled with being dumped by his 19th Katherine, he’s not in top form the day after graduation. The obvious cure to failed potential and failed relationships? Road trip!

I loved Paper Towns and I really liked Looking For Alaska, but An Abundance of Katherines was just okay. The pages were full of John Green’s awesomeness, but something was off for me. Part of it was Colin’s whininess, but I felt the story wasn’t as awesome as Green’s others.

What I did love? The footnotes! I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed footnotes quite as much. I had heard of their wonderfulness, but didn’t think they’d live up to the hype. Fortunately, they did. I hope that JG resurrects them again sometime.

My rating: 7/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

[If you haven’t read The Hunger Games a) skip over this part and b) what are you waiting for? Go read it now.]

Winning the Hunger Games usually means you’re set for life. However, when you beat the system and make a fool of the Capitol, things aren’t quite so easy. After both walking out of the Games alive, Katniss and Peeta have been back at District 12 for a few months and life has been mostly peaceful. Their rest comes to an end, though, when official Games business calls. They’re swept up in a whirlwind of primping, fake kissing, and political games.

Catching Fire picks right up on the action from The Hunger Games. This was no second-book-slump situation. I managed to stay away from most spoilers before reading it, so some of the twists absolutely shocked me and the action in the last half kept me reading and reading and reading. The countdown for Mockingjay is on!

And now for the most important part of this review, the big reveal: Team Peeta, welcome another member. I was reluctant to take sides, but once I realized I became annoyed most times Gale showed up, I could not deny my alliance. Any other Peetaians out there?

My rating: 8.5/10

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Uglies also takes place in a futuristic North America, but instead of being divided into districts like in The Hunger Games/Catching Fire, the surviving citizens are divided into independent, self-reliant cities. The only thing that connects them is that when kids turn 16, they’re turned into Pretties, so that all citizens are equal. We meet Tally just months before she turns 16 and she’s counting down the days until she can join her bestie Peris in New Pretty Town. Of course, things to awry and Tally is forced to jump through hoops galore if she wants to become Pretty.

Maybe it wasn’t such a good idea to read Uglies so soon after finishing Catching Fire. For most of the book I kept thinking “Katniss would totally have beat Tally up by now” or “Really, Tally fell for that? Katniss would never be that gullible.” I had to keep reminding myself that Tally didn’t grow up with a reason to fear and question any kind of authority. Also, that they’re both fictional characters. Then I was able to enjoy the book.

Uglies was a fun read and parts of it had me flipping pages as fast as they could be flipped. However, there were a few Issues brought up that, while they need to be explored, were laid on kind of thick. Taking care of the environment, eating properly, etc are all important, but some of the conversations revolving around them in felt stilted.

That ending though? Yes, Scott Westerfeld, you’ve convinced me, I will be reading Pretties.

My rating: 7.5/10

Related:
Soundtrack Saturday

Challenges these three count towards:
Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge 5/15
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge 11/25
YA Reading Challenge 9/12

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 8:04 pm

    I havent read John Green yet but want to…. thanks for sharing about this book :)

  2. April 21, 2010 8:27 am

    Supporter of Peeta over here. I thought at first I just liked him better because he was around more, but then the second book happened, and Gale had more to do, and I still liked Peeta best. So I think my allegiance is true.

    • April 21, 2010 10:44 am

      That was my thinking, too. I didn’t feel I could make an informed decision after the first book because we spend like 5 minutes with Gale right at the beginning and then it’s all Peeta from then on. But there’s no doubt now that I have a soft spot for Peeta.

  3. April 21, 2010 4:35 pm

    I’m leaning on Peeta too ;)

  4. April 25, 2010 5:58 pm

    Can’t wait for Mockingjay too. Team Peeta as well, I was originally rooting for Gale but he’s not doing anything for his case!!!

    :D

  5. April 29, 2010 12:19 pm

    Aw, it makes me sad that almost every John Green fan seems to find Katherines disappointing. *hugs book* I’m glad you liked the footnotes, though :P

  6. April 29, 2010 2:12 pm

    As strange as it is for me to admit, I actually liked Katherines better than Alaska! And I haven’t picked up Paper Towns yet, but it’s definitely on my radar.

    Team Peeta?! Oh nooo! Haha. I’m Team Gale, but loosely… can’t wait for Mockingjay later this year!

  7. taraSG permalink
    May 29, 2010 5:42 pm

    I LOVED the Uglies series. He is the king of book endings :)

I <3 Comments

