Skip to content

Before I Forget by Melissa Hill (final thoughts)

April 11, 2010

Abby has spent the last 6 months reliving her relationship with Kieran, especially the end bit, and picking apart at went wrong. As hard as she’s tried to forget them, the memories continue to plagued her. One day she is knocked on the head in a freak accident, one that threatens not only Abby’s painful memories, but any memory already created or still to come.

After reading S. Krishna’s review of Before I Forget I immediate went out and bought a copy, only to have it sit on my shelf for three months. Why oh why did I put it off for so long? This book was simply wonderful.

At the beginning of the book, Abby wasn’t the most likable character. She was whiny and spineless, which made watching her growth throughout the book all that much more enjoyable. After the accident, she was faced with a pretty harsh prognosis: there was no guarantee that she could retain all of her memories. At any time, any one of them could fall through the crack left by the accident. Instead of admitting defeat, Abby set off to fight it, determined that memories could indeed be retained if they were powerful enough.

I’m so glad that I decided to buy Before I Forget, because it’s one I’ll want to read again – after I lend it to all my friends!

Melissa Hill can be a very sneaky writer. You think she’s writing about one thing, but a few pages later realize something completely different is going on. Does she do this in any of her other books? Because I loved it. She totally got me a couple times, and I had to go back and reread those sections before continuing on with the story. Either way, I will most definitely be picking up more Melissa Hill books in the future.

My rating: 8.75/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday

Challenges:
Buy One Book and Read It 1/6

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 9:43 am

    Oo, what a cool idea. I think it’s interesting in books when the backstory gets gradually revealed, particularly if even the main character doesn’t know what’s happened. I must read this!

  2. April 12, 2010 5:09 pm

    your review makes me want to run right into my bedroom and snap this up on my kindle! i remember a few years back, a woman was seriously injured during the macy’s thanksgiving day paraded when a float hit a light pole that broke and fell on her head. i remember reading that her personality totally changed as a result of the injury and her memory was impacted as well–and she had a husband and children.

    you have me hankering for this one!! i’m sending you the bill. :)

  3. April 20, 2010 10:32 am

    I’ve never heard of this before, but it sounds great! Thanks for the review :) I’m going to have to pick this up very soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Snippet Review: Vacation Reading « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

