Skip to content

April 10th: The Spring 2010 24hr Read-A-Thon!

April 7, 2010

The 2010 Spring read-a-thon is just about upon us! Woot! Who else is excited about reading for 24 hours??! Okay, so I’m actually not going to be reading for the full 24 hours, because I NEED MY SLEEP! Otherwise I become scary zombie monster and a) can’t do that to my poor husband and b) it’s my birthday on Sunday and would like to be somewhat pleasant for the festivities! Also, the Pacific start time is 5 am, and I’m pretty sure that time doesn’t even exist. Really, there’s a five o’clock in the morning?? Sounds like a myth to me.

My plan is to surface around 8 am and read until midnight. If I manage 15 hours of reading time, I’ll be pretty darn happy. If you want to see how I’m doing throughout the day, I’m going to have one post I’ll continue to update with my progress.

In addition to reading, I’m also a cheerleader (Go Team Byron!!), so hopefully I’ll be able to pop by and see how everyone’s doing at some point during the day! Okay, so maybe not everyone, because guys, there are like 300 people participating and I do want to read at some point ;)

Also, I’ll be hosting a mini-challenge around mid-‘thon, so there will be no shortages of excitements going on over here.

I participated in the read-a-thon for the first time in October and decided I would start off by just cheerleading. Visiting all those gazillions of blogs did make me wish I was doing more reading, but it also let me see some of the awesome things people were doing with the ‘thon. Such as, giving money to charity! This idea stuck with me, and I’ve decided to give $5 for each book I read to The International Justice Mission, an awesome organization I was introduced to earlier this year. From the IJM Canada website:

International Justice Mission is a human rights organization that rescues victims of violence, sexual exploitation, slavery and oppression. A multi-national team of law enforcement professionals and a highly qualified legal staff conduct criminal investigations and collect evidence to rescue victims and bring perpetrators to justice.

Like I said, awesome, right?

Okay, so what books do I plan on reading? These are the books I have stacked up, all set to be read, in the order I plan on reading them:

Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
84, Charring Cross Road by Helen Hanff
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
Uglies by Scott Westerfield

I’m not a super speedy reader, so I’ll be thrilled if I get through even 3-4 of these books. Plus, I’ve got a nice stack still on my bookshelf if I need more or if I decide I want to read something else.

Now I just need to work on my stack of snacks!

If you haven’t signed up yet, there’s still time! For details and the full list of participants, head over here.

If you are participating, have you picked out your books? What snacks do you recommend to get through the day?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 7:34 pm

    I haven’t picked out my books yet, so I’m gonna pass on that question. As to snacks– try lots of fruit, especially stuff like oranges and apples. Also crackers with peanut butter on them (though keep them away from the books. Crumbs, you know.), that delicious kind of cheese that you can spread on chunks of French bread, Gatorade (it’s hard work, reading!), toast with jam, tea, and my favorite: chocolate truffles.

    All the stuff I mentioned you can eat with one hand (well, you’ll have to spread the cheese and peanut butter all out at one time), which is key to continuous reading success! :D

    • April 9, 2010 9:48 am

      Good thinking, making sure snacks are one-handed! I’ll keep that in mind when I go shopping today. Tea, coffee, and crackers w/ peanut butter are a must! And I have chocolate truffles sitting here that I was given last weekend, so I guess I’ll have to eat those, too ;)

  2. April 7, 2010 7:46 pm

    sounds like a great plan and looks like a nice list of books. i’m partial to catching fire and hope you enjoy it!

    have a productive reading day and a happy birthday on sunday!!

  3. April 8, 2010 3:11 am

    Yay for the readathon! Uglies is awesome and I can’t wait to read Catching Fire. Great pile there.

    My pile consists of easy mysteries (James Patterson and cozy series) with some YA/MG thrown in.

    My snacks will be purchased later today. I’m thinking junk food, probably lots of the chocolate variety. Lots of coffee and energy drinks. Sandwiches will be ordered at some point.

    Happy birthday too!

  4. April 8, 2010 6:28 am

    Have you read either of the IJM president’s books? I think his name is Gary Haugen…they’re pretty good – sad and moving but good. Good luck!

    • April 9, 2010 9:47 am

      No, I didn’t know he had written any books! I just looked them up, and they look really good. Thanks!

  5. April 8, 2010 12:07 pm

    Looks like you have excellent book choices for the readathon! Famous Amos cookies are my favorite reading snack. They are bite-sized and delicious.

  6. April 8, 2010 1:23 pm

    Yay for Catching Fire and An Abundance of Katherines! The latter is my most favorite of John Green’s books; very entertaining and poignant. Several of the passages really “spoke” to me! Wishing you lots of great luck with the readathon! And I’m pretty sure 5 a.m. doesn’t exist as a time, either. I mean, really?

  7. April 8, 2010 5:38 pm

    You have a great list! I’m on Team Shelly for cheerleading. We should read Uglies together!

    • April 9, 2010 9:46 am

      I think it’s going to be my evening/late night book. I’ll send you a tweet when I start it!

  8. April 8, 2010 6:31 pm

    A read-a-thon and a birthday in 1 weekend!!! You’re going to have so much fun :)

  9. April 8, 2010 8:35 pm

    Sounds like you’ll have a great day – with some amazing reading! Catching Fire was such a good book, I wish I could read it for the first time once more! Have fun! ;-)

  10. April 9, 2010 5:35 am

    Oooo good luck! So exciting!

  11. April 10, 2010 5:49 am

    Books to the ceiling,
    Books to the sky.
    My pile of books
    Are a mile high.
    How I love them!
    How I need them!
    I’ll have a long beard
    By the time I read them.
    ~ Arnold Lobel ~

    Have fun reading on the 24 Hour Read A Thon!

  12. April 10, 2010 6:53 am

    Enjoy your book now.
    Don’t forget to rest your eyes.
    Look to next novel.

    Haiku #1 inspired by Dawn @ She Is Too Fond of Books

Trackbacks

  1. Spring 2010 Read-a-thon Updates « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

