Skip to content

Exciting Announcement! (or, How I will be spending my summer vacation)

March 31, 2010

…which actually won’t be a vacation at all.

Dudes and Dudettes, I’ve got exciting news!

Although I love books, I am also a huge, ginormous music fan. So much that I even work in the music industry. I currently work for a record label and artist management company, for which I do various tour-related admin type things. But, I have never been out on tour. That, my friends, is about to change, as I will be spending the summer working on a 7-week, 36-date, 80+ artist super tour.

It’s just a little thing called Lilith Fair.

I realize not everyone has been living in a Lilith-saturated world for the last few months, so incase you don’t know what it’s all about, here’s the rundown. Lilith Fair was started in 1997 by Sarah McLachlan, her manager, and booking agent to promote women in music. No one thought that an all-female tour could be successful, but guess what? It was a hit and ran for three years. And now, ten years later, it’s back and it’s going to be huge.

Of the 36 dates across North America, only Sarah McLachlan will be playing every show. The other 9-10 slots per show will be filled by a rotation of about 80 other artists. Artists that include everyone from Tegan & Sara to The Go-Go’s, Kelly Clarkson to Metric. Seriously, it is going to be amazing.

My involvement has been in talks for a few months now, but my spot was just confirmed recently. I know the tour is still three months away, but I was so bursting with excitement, I just had to share the news! I’ve done so much office behind the scenes work on tours that I’ve been itching to get out there and experience it first hand.

However, while I am insanely excited, I’m also extremely terrified, because, guys, 7 weeks is a long time to be away from the hubby. Sigh.

But, I want to bring all of you with me on this crazy adventure! True, I’ll most likely be spending a good deal of time holed up in identical looking production offices, but my plan is to post [ir]regular updates with pictures, the cities we’ve been in, insights on life on a tour bus, bands I’ve seen, and of course, the books I’ve been reading. Anything in particular you want to hear about?

I’ve already started making a mental list of books to bring along that will be engaging, fun, and won’t make me cry (really, that’s the last thing I need to do in the company of 40-year old men, or anyone, actually). Of the books currently on my shelf, I think I’m going to save The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte, and Friends Like These for tour time. And I might also bring Anna Kerenina with me, because wow, are there going to be some longggg bus rides. Any books do you recommend for long road trips?

Also, are you going to any of the shows? It would be fun to meet up!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 12:15 pm

    Oh wow! That’s incredibly exciting! And what a great line up – especially Rosie Thomas, Beth Orton and Cat Power. Sigh, I want your job :P

    The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy is indeed perfect for a long trip – it’s immensely gripping and fun. I’d push Daddy-Long-Legs, but it’d just be over too fast :P So I’ll say The Book Thief instead.

    • March 31, 2010 12:26 pm

      I’m saving Daddy Long Legs for the read-a-thon – because it will go by so fast! I was thinking of bringing The Book Thief along, but I’m afraid of it making me all weepy. If I don’t read it before June, I’ll probably bring it along just incase :)

  2. March 31, 2010 12:19 pm

    omg! How exciting! :D I’ve never been to a music fair before but I certainly have heard of Lilith Fair. Congrats on being able to do something so awesome!

    Now, to books. I tend to want light-hearted books for long trips; when I went to Disney World last year I brought Undomestic Goddess (which actually isn’t that good, so don’t get that). I’d recommend any Sophie Kinsella (except UG), DIANA WYNNE JONES omg, seriously, and Michael Crichton (I read Timeline on a roadtrip a few years ago and it went down really well). Also Agatha Christie, if you feel like mysteries.

    For specific books…maybe The Geographer’s Library I can send you my copy if you want)? And I think Orlando by Virginia Woolf would be good– it’s funny and weird.

    • March 31, 2010 12:35 pm

      Thanks for all the recs! I’ve read all of Kinsella’s books, but I might bring Twenties Girl along because it was so fun the first time around. And yeah, UD wasn’t her best effort.

      I also read Timeline back in the day on a road trip! lol :) That was a good book, shame the movie was so awful.

      I’ve been meaning to read Christie and Woolf this year, so this could be a good opportunity!

  3. March 31, 2010 1:06 pm

    Crazy awesome for you! I had no idea you work in the music industry; that must be really, really exciting. :) Lilith Fair sounds awesome! I was a little young the first time it was around, but I’ve heard a lot about it over the years. Sounds like you’ll have some great reading material, too!

  4. March 31, 2010 3:31 pm

    OMG this is amazing news!!! Like AMAZING! I’m so jealous. I’d like to know what the celebrities are really like, let us know who turned out to be the nicest???

  5. March 31, 2010 10:24 pm

    wow awesome! congrats! I hope you have fun!

  6. justbookreading permalink
    April 1, 2010 4:15 am

    That sounds like an awesome summer. Have fun!

  7. April 1, 2010 7:44 am

    How cool! Oh my gosh, you’re going to have such a great time! May I recommend M.M. Kaye’s The Far Pavilions for a long road trip? It’s this massive historical fiction book set in India around the time of the Sepoy Rebellion, and it’s very good. Lots of intrigue and deception.

  8. April 1, 2010 1:27 pm

    How exciting! Have you read Gone With the Wind? That would be a great one. Or Under the Dome by Stephen King (I haven’t read it yet, but for some reason I can only think of really long books to suggest). Have fun!

  9. April 1, 2010 6:26 pm

    Coming from another huge music fan….THIS IS AMAZING!!! I saw Lilith Fair way back in ’97 or ’98, can’t remember which one, but I was in high school. Sarah McLachlan played alone with Jewel and the Indigo Girls, among a few others. It was awesome! I love female music. Well, I love all music! I’m so excited for you, but I must admit, extremely jealous as well!!!! Are you coming to Chicago? Oh my god, so many good artists on the list! Many of whom I’ve seen like Sara Barellis and Miss Higgins and many who I would love to see like Norah Jones, and even one I know personally…Toby Lightman (We stood up in my cousin’s wedding together and she sang the bride and groom’s first song, plus I was in a musical fundraiser with her in college)! Okay, I’m going on and on, but this is seriously amazing! Have the best time ever!

  10. April 1, 2010 6:42 pm

    What a cool job! I saw Sarah Mclachlan in concert a number of years ago and thought she was great! Can’t wait to hear about your tour bus escapades.

  11. April 3, 2010 10:08 am

    Meg – I missed out on it the first time around, too. I remember hearing lots about it, but it came through my hometown about two years before I became a concert junkie ;)

    LR – LOL! I don’t know how much of that kind of info I’ll be able to pass on, but I’ll see what I can do ;)

    Karoline – Thanks! I’m hoping it’ll be lots of fun.

    justbookreading – Thanks :)

    Jenny – I haven’t heard of The Far Pavilions, but it sounds fantastic! Thanks for the recommendation! Bring on the intrigue and deception :)

    Amy – Oooh, Gone With The Wind. No, I haven’t read that yet. I’ll make sure it’s either one of the books I bring along or one of the movies I load onto my computer :)

    Julie – Yes, Chicago is one of our stops. It’ll be my first time in that part of the US. Actually, most of the stops will be my first time in those cities lol! That’s so cool you went to one of the original Lilith dates!

    Colleen – She is pretty fantastic live. I’m hoping I’ll be able to catch her set a few times during the tour.

  12. April 4, 2010 12:40 am

    Wow, what a terrific summer you will be having. Getting to be behind the scenes at Lilith Fair is huge!!

    Are you really going to have the time to read books? I highly recommend the Hitchhiker series…apart from that any light chick-lit/thrillers should do.

    I am not sure that Anna Karenina is the best choice of books for reading on a bus, but that’s me. I tend to get motion sickness if I concentrate too hard on a book.

    Have fun !

    • April 5, 2010 5:27 pm

      I’m thinking most of my reading will be done during the drives between cities – at least the drives that aren’t over night! I’m leaning towards picking lighter, quicker books to bring along. There’s a good chance that after a full day in the production office I won’t have much brain power left to focus on heavy reading :)

Trackbacks

  1. Tour Countdown #2: Lissie « alita.reads.
  2. Tour Countdown #3 – Sara Bareilles « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

