Skip to content

Monday Round Up (03.29.10)

March 28, 2010

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
Beastly by Alex Flinn (review to come)

Started: Fallen by Lauren Kate (I’m having trouble getting into this one. Really hoping it picks up soon.)

Up next: Lullabies For Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill. I borrowed this from my mom so long ago, there’s a good chance she’s forgotten that I have it. High time that I read it.

Library Loot is hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

In anticipation for the read-a-thon, I picked up a few library books this week:

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster

Uglies by Scott Westerfield (This was more of an impulse loan than a conscious read-a-thon pick up. Didn’t really need it, but read-a-thon is a good excuse!)

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

I went a couple weeks without acquiring any new books, but the drought ended last week with these wonderful additions to my bookcase:

Brava, Valentine by Adriana Trigiani (won)

Ciao Bella by Gina Buonguro and Janice Kirck (won)

Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote (bought) *I am sooo excited to finally have my own copy of this! I read it for the first time last year and was so sad when I had to return it to the library*

84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff (bought)

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession? Have you signed up for the 24-hr Read-a-thon yet?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2010 8:05 pm

    Fallen took me about 200 pages to get into, but once I hit the 200 mark, I couldn’t put the thing down! Push through and it will get better! :)

  2. March 28, 2010 8:19 pm

    The first half of Lovely Bones is really well-written and held my attention. The movie adaptation was better than I expected.

  3. March 28, 2010 8:39 pm

    Love love love 84 Charing Cross Road.. have you seen the movie?

    Here is my Monday: http://thelostentwife.net/2010/03/28/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-14/

  4. March 28, 2010 10:29 pm

    The Lovely Bones, Catching Fire, Uglies, Beastly and Fallen! Wow! What a line up! I need to go back and read a few of your reviews.

    Have a fabulous reading week and enjoy the upcoming read-a-thon!

  5. March 28, 2010 10:37 pm

    84 Charing Cross Road is a wonderful classic. Enjoy your books!

  6. March 29, 2010 2:42 am

    I hope Fallen turns out to be good. I have had that one since Christmas and really want to get to it :)

  7. March 29, 2010 4:46 am

    Wow, fab mailbox. I loved Brava, Valentine!

  8. March 29, 2010 5:21 am

    Catching Fire, Daddy Long Legs, Uglies — all so good!! Have a good week!

  9. March 29, 2010 6:04 am

    Hope you have a great reading week! Those look interesting. Here is mine: http://ruthiesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2010/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_29.html

  10. kaye permalink
    March 29, 2010 6:12 am

    Ooh, I loved Brava, Valentine and so want to read 84 Charing Cross Rd. Have a great week and happy reading. My MM is here

  11. March 29, 2010 6:46 am

    Lovely Bones was a very interesting read. Definitely different than what I had ever read before. Now it seems everyone is doing something similar. I hope you enjoy Catching Fire. I am anxiously awaiting Mockingjay. I have Fallen and have heard so many great things about it I think it will have to pick up. Have a great week.

  12. March 29, 2010 7:36 am

    What a nice eclectic collection of books! I like the way you’ve combined the various Monday posts.

    Here’s mine:

    http://laurel-rain-snow.blogspot.com/2010/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_28.html

  13. March 29, 2010 7:57 am

    I’ve heard such great things about Fallen so I do hope it works out for you =]

    Catching Fire is pretty great!! Love the triology so far and I’m really looking forward to Mockingjay coming out.

    I have yet to read Uglies so I’m definitely looking forward to your thoughts when you read it =]

    happy monday to you!

  14. March 29, 2010 8:11 am

    Happy reading!

  15. March 29, 2010 9:08 am

    I hope you’ll enjoy Catching Fire!

    Here is mine

  16. March 29, 2010 11:12 am

    I just Kindled another 4 books yesterday…not that I needed any…but I just began Arcadia Falls by Carole Goodman. I am just getting into it and it is really really good.

  17. March 29, 2010 11:54 am

    I’ll echo the other comments in saying that I’ve heard Fallen is good as well, so hopefully it’ll improve for you. I’ve read the Uglies series and Catching Fire and those are great as well. Two books that really intrigue me at the moment are the Body Finder and Num8ers – both YA novels. Have a wonderful week!

  18. March 29, 2010 5:26 pm

    I’ve heard that Fallen is a bit slow to get into, but is worth the read! I can’t believe I blocked you on twitterI must have done it accidentally-I get a lot of spam. I unblocked you and sent you a request. :)

  19. March 29, 2010 7:42 pm

    I am going to read your review of The Lovely Bones right now – I am always interested to see what people think of it because I seem to be out on my own with my views of the book!

    Here is mine if you get a chance
    http://pageturnersbooks.blogspot.com/2010/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_30.html

  20. March 29, 2010 7:44 pm

    Breakfast at Tiffany’s and 84 Charing Cross Road are both lovely books. Happy reading!

  21. March 29, 2010 8:05 pm

    Fallen was really slow for me too. I kept comparing it to Hush, Hush in my head, which was a similar premise, but I thought a much better book. I also had to keep reminding myself that it was written for a younger YA audience, I seem to recall it being for around age 12ish? It was worth finishing, just not the best movie ever.

    Good luck this week :)

  22. March 31, 2010 10:15 am

    You had a nice week in books! I hope FALLEN has improved for you!

I <3 Comments

