Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Beastly

March 26, 2010

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

Current Read: Beastly by Alex Flinn

One Sentence Summary: Modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and this time from the Beast’s perspective.

Soundtrack Song: “I’ll Catch You” by The Get Up Kids, from the album Something To Write Home About

Why I chose this song: When the Beast finds his Beauty, he is so concerned about her safety and happiness, it’s really very sweet. I think this song captures that sweetness, especially his need to keep her safe.

Still breaking old habits, habits
You pulled the wool over me
I can see everything, everything
Remembering “Jinx Removing”

Don’t worry, I’ll catch you
Don’t worry, I’ll catch you
Don’t ever worry

I’ve loved this song so hard for a long time. For a while I had trouble deciding, when I ever got married, if our first dance would be to this song or “First Day Of My Life” by Bright Eyes (ended up being neither, in case you’re wondering). Not only is it one of my favourite songs from one of my all time favourite albums, this is one of my most favourite album covers. Robots in love? How awesome is that!

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 10:41 pm

    I read this book last year and I think I did have a song for it. But I can’t remember what it was. :(

  2. March 27, 2010 5:16 pm

    1. Pretty song!
    2. I love this book. Hope you love it too.

  3. March 27, 2010 8:43 pm

    Ah, that album cover is pretty great! I enjoy robots :]

    Great song lyrics by the way. I haven’t read Beastly yet but I’m definitely planning on it. And the song is very nice, definitely one I’ll have to download to my iPod.

  4. March 28, 2010 8:02 am

    Wow what a fun post – I love this idea :)

  5. March 29, 2010 4:26 pm

    heidenkind – Too bad :( Let me know if you remember what it was!

    Juju – I did love this book! Trying to figure out how to review it by saying more than just ‘awww so good!’ :)

    Mishel – You really should read it! And download the whole album – Like I said, it’s one of my all time favourites!

    LR – Thanks! Stop by again next week :)

I <3 Comments

