Skip to content

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler (final thoughts)

March 23, 2010

One morning 21st-century girl and LA resident Courtney Stone wakes up in someone else’s bed. And someone else’s century. And someone else’s body. Suddenly and inexplicably she is Jane Mansfield, of Regency England. She’s thrown into a life where at 30 she is a breath away from being declared a spinster, something the Mrs. Mansfield feels the need to constantly bring up. Courtney’s days become jammed packed with embroidery, taking turns in the garden, and wondering what the heck the deal is with the handsome widower, Mr. Edgeworth. In the midst of all of this, she also has to figure out how to get back home to her tiny apartment in the 21st century.

I don’t really know what to say about Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict other than that it was a lot of fun. I’m always interested in what life was like back then, and Courtney’s 21st century take on 19th century life was delightful. Her internal monologue and instances where she slipped up and used modern phrases had me laughing out loud more than a few times.

The story was moving along at a good pace and I really liked where it was going, but it seemed to sputter and stall at the end. I’m having trouble pinpointing exactly where things went wrong, but I think it was the epilogue that bothered me. I’m beginning to feel they’re largely unnecessary. That being said, I did really enjoy the rest of the book and am glad I read it. I would highly recommend it to fans of Jane Austen who are okay with mixing Jane’s world with a bit of chick lit.

There is a sequel coming out in April which tells Jane’s side of the story, Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austin Addict. I’m very much looking forward to reading that one. Edit: Apparently this one came out last year. Why did Amazon tell me it was coming out in April? Paperback maybe?

Did anyone else have a similar experience with Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict? Or did the ending not work just for me?

My rating: 7.75/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday
Soundtrack Saturday

Challenges:
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge 6/25

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 11:53 pm

    I remember not liking the ending much either, especially since when I read it I had no idea there was a sequel coming up. But the second book gives many answers, and I enjoyed it more.

    • March 24, 2010 10:48 am

      Right, the ending felt incomplete, there were way too many unanswered questions. So glad to hear that the sequel fills in some of those gaps!

  2. March 24, 2010 7:17 am

    Maybe I should wait to read this until the sequel is out so the ending doesn’t make me cranky!

  3. March 24, 2010 12:44 pm

    I’ve heard that about the ending of this one but I think I might still give it a try since I like Austen.

  4. March 24, 2010 1:34 pm

    i think i read this one but am a bit hazy on the details. may have to go back and revisit it just so i can be fresh for the sequel!

    i just watched ‘lost in austen’ on netflix and enjoyed it. like you, i’m a fan of the era and gobble up time travel books or movies. once i got over the absurdity of the time travel in lost in austen, i enjoyed the film.

  5. March 24, 2010 2:40 pm

    I’ve actually never read any Jane Austen, but this books sounds like it has an interesting twist and can be a lighthearted fun read! Thanks for the review!

  6. March 25, 2010 7:16 am

    Great review. I won’t rush out to by it, but I am glad it was humorous. I had the same experience with She Walks In Beauty which I just read.

  7. March 25, 2010 4:12 pm

    Great review. I haven’t tried this one. Sounds cute. Love the cover.

  8. March 25, 2010 4:37 pm

    Amy – Don’t let the ending scare you away. The rest of the book was really very fun.

    Nat – I need to watch Lost in Austen! Thanks for the recommendation :)

    Julie – I really think you can still enjoy it if you haven’t read anything by Austen. I liked that it didn’t take itself seriously.

    Alayne – Thanks! It definitely was a humorous read.

    Juju – Isn’t it great? I love the cover to the sequel, too, the girl with her empire waist dress and ipod :)

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Round Up (05.03.10) « alita.reads.
  2. Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler « The Sleepless Reader

I <3 Comments

