Skip to content

Angels by Marian Keyes (final thoughts)

March 17, 2010

Maggie was always the dependable Walsh daughter, the white sheep in a family of black sheep. So, it comes as a surprise to pretty much everyone who knows her when she announces that she’s left her husband and then takes off to Los Angeles. Of course, there is far more to the story and Keyes delivers it in her usual witty fashion.

Angels was the third book I’ve read in Keyes’ Walsh Family series. Each book focuses on one of the five Walsh sisters, specifically on a difficult period during that sister’s life. In Angels, Maggie, the second oldest sister, has to figure out what life as a singleton looks like after finding out her husband has been seeing someone else. Of all sisters, Maggie is probably the one I can related to most. Not the whole cheating husband and loveless marriage thing, thankfully, but personality-wise I found some similarities. She is the good girl, the one who has always done what’s been expected, and who is extremely awkward around pregnant women:

As I lept out, I blurted, ‘Thanks for all the chocolate and good luck with the excruciating agony of childbirth.’
I hadn’t meant to say that. I tried again. ‘Er, good luck with the labour.’ (p.217)

I’m very afraid I’m going to say something like that one of these days. Chapter 20, which this quote was taken from, was probably my favourite of the book. I’ve already reread it a couple times.

Although I could relate to Maggie, the story that unfolds after she touches down in LA seemed a bit far-fetched. True, in reality LA, especially the movie industry that the friend she’s staying with is part of, can actually be far-fetched, but I had a hard time keeping up with the story at some points.

That being said, I do love Keyes’ writing and her observations of life in LA were hilarious. Plus, I’ll never pass up an opportunity to hang out with the Walsh family and all their quirks. Anybody Out There? remains my favourite of her books, but this one keeps up with the wonderful stories and characters I’ve found in her other books (let’s just forget Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married ever happened, okay? Actually, it did redeemed itself in the end, so I stand by my previous statement.). Marian Keyes writes hurt and restoration so honestly, proving both that chick lit can have depth to it and that women going through difficult times are still allowed to laugh.

My rating: 7.5/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday
Soundtrack Saturday

Challenges:
Read Your Name 4/5

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 12:11 pm

    I agree that Chick Lit can have depth. I just finished my first novel, Intimate Encounters and I was uncertain how to classify it. So I picked Chick Lit as the closest genre, although my publisher put it under Romance. But it has depth and I address a variety of other issues that don’t usually show up in Chick Lit.

    Sierra Michaels
    http://www.sierramichaels.com

  2. March 17, 2010 4:26 pm

    i’ve read a few of her books and have usually gotten a laugh or two. as for all the fun in hollywood…well, that didn’t happen to me when i visited a few summers ago. i preferred our stay at the madonna inn in san luis obispo to the swanky LA hotel we snagged on priceline for a steal. :)

  3. March 18, 2010 5:42 am

    Nice review. I haven’t read anything by Keyes, but she’s been on my radar lately. I enjoyed the funny quote about her awkwardness around pregnant people. :)
    Alayne
    The Crowded Leaf

  4. sumana permalink
    March 18, 2010 8:18 am

    Hi Alita,

    I have an award for you here :http://sumanam.wordpress.com/

  5. March 18, 2010 12:17 pm

    Great review. This title is new to me :)

  6. March 18, 2010 6:25 pm

    I love Marian Keyes books! It has been awhile since I have read this one but I do remember liking it. I have This Charming Man on my shelf still to be read – have you read it yet?

  7. March 19, 2010 5:32 am

    what are the other books about the Walsh family. I thought I’d read most of her books, but somewhere I seem to have missed that the girls belong to a single family

    • March 19, 2010 8:12 am

      The other Walsh books are Watermelon (about Claire), Anybody Out There (about Anna), and Rachel’s Holiday (haven’t read this one yet, about Rachel, the oldest daughter). Marian Keyes hasn’t written one about Helen, the youngest, yet. Have you read any of these? And apparently Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married is a sideways sequel to Watermelon, but I couldn’t find any connection to the Walsh family in it.

  8. March 19, 2010 10:07 am

    Never read anything by this author and this book sounds interesting. I’ll have to check it out.
    I also gave you a virtual Easter basket!
    http://www.thebookinn.net/2010/03/join-hersheys-better-basket-blog-hop.html
    Natalie :0)

  9. March 21, 2010 5:17 am

    I do like Marian Keyes but I haven’t read this one yet. It sounds like a good one though, despite some of the far fetched bits.

  10. March 21, 2010 2:48 pm

    I like your review. I have never read here but this does sound good!

  11. March 21, 2010 5:53 pm

    I’ve never read Marian Keyes, but have several of her books in my TBR! Good review here, I will look this up sometime.

Trackbacks

  1. Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

