Skip to content

Quick Thoughts: Two Books of Fives

March 8, 2010

Edit: Guys! This is my 200th post! I feel like I should have done something more special. All the more reason for you to head to the bottom of the post and tell me what your love language is :)

The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

The premise of this book is pretty simple. Eddie dies and then in heaven meets five people whose lives were somehow connected with his. Each person has a lesson to teach Eddie that is supposed to help him understand the purpose of his life. Some people were a large part of Eddie’s life while others just had a passing influence.

I remember hearing about this book a lot when it came out a few years ago and then quickly forgot all about it. When I saw that it was included in the Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge List all the hype came back to me and I immediately knew I wanted to read it.

I don’t know if it was because I was so distracted by everything else going on in the city at the time, but The Five People… was just okay for me. It was pretty interesting but never really pulled me in. I think I might still try Tuesdays with Morrie at some point as I’ve heard that one is better.

My rating: 6.5/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday
Soundtrack Saturday

Challenges:
Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge: 3/15

The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

I don’t read many books like this one, but I had been wanting to read it since I took one of the quizzes online a couple years ago. And you know what? I really, really liked it.

In all his years of counseling Dr. Chapman realized that people don’t express love in the same way. He categorized these expressions into five different love languages: Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. Dr. Chapman suggests that the key to a happy and successful relationship is to understand what your partner’s love language is and learn to speak it. Sure, there are a lot of other things that sometimes need to be fixed too, but those things are easier to fix once your partner feels loved. True, some of the conversations in the book are kind of cheesy, but what Dr. Chapman has some really valid things to say.

There are a couple things to keep in mind if you’re going to read this book. First, Dr. Chapman is a Christian and uses a few Bible references in the book. But you don’t have to be a Christian to get what he’s saying or to apply what’s in the book to your own relationship. Second, the book is specific to marriage relationships, however I have single friends who have read it and really got a lot out of it. A couple other versions have also been released geared towards singles, children, and teenagers.

I very highly recommend this book. It will not only help you understand how you and your significant other express love, but will also help you better understand friends and family members.

In case you’re wondering, I’m bilingual – both Quality Time and Acts of Service will let me know you think I’m pretty swell.

What’s your love language? If you don’t know, take the 30 second quiz! Then come back and leave your answer :)

My rating: 9/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 4:05 am

    Words of Affirmation are apparently important to me! I love the new look! It’s amazing! Your header is so cool!

  2. March 9, 2010 9:58 am

    I also love the new look! I picked the five people you meet in heaven up at a second hand store a few months ago, it’s just sitting there waiting for me. One day, I guess.

    I also enjoyed The Five Love Languages…mine are quality time and touch. My hubby’s are words of affirmation and acts of service.

    Great reviews!

  3. March 9, 2010 5:54 pm

    This is actually the second time I’ve heard someone talking about this book in the last week! I didn’t know the actual name of it before, so I’m glad to see it listed out, I’m totally adding it to my TBR pile!

  4. March 9, 2010 7:35 pm

    I cannot resist a quiz – I’m Words of Affirmation. Which is totally true, I am always completely surprised and thrilled when I get thanked for doing something small.

  5. March 9, 2010 7:58 pm

    Tuesdays with Morrie is a great book, also Woman’s Lives, Women’s Legacies’ from Rachael Freed (Fairview Press Minneapolis 2003) is good read.

    Congratulations on 2000 and yes I love your header

  6. March 9, 2010 7:59 pm

    Sorry I mean 200

  7. March 10, 2010 6:36 am

    Congratulations on your 200th post!!! There is no leaving the blogging world NOW!!! ;) Since you are one of my favs.. I would be disappointed if you weren’t blogging! Thanks for a fabulous 200 posts!

  8. March 10, 2010 10:13 am

    juliebrichta – Thanks! The blog-renovation was a fun project, one I’m sure will keep going :)

    Heather – You should read Five People. I think I’m one of the minority who didn’t love it. Thanks for sharing your love languages :)

    Crystal – Glad I could help!

    Jenny – I spent the last 3 years thinking Words of Affirmation was my love language, but after reading the book and doing the quiz at the back of it, WoA only came up at #3 on my list. Weird, right? Thanks for commenting on my post :)

    Sean – Thanks for the recommendations!

    Allison – Aw, thanks! I’m definitely not going anywhere :)

  9. March 15, 2010 2:21 pm

    Yay for 200 posts! I am constantly giving gifts to my husband, but apparently, that isn’t his love language. His is physical touch!

  10. March 16, 2010 4:15 am

    You should check out The Noticer, it was fabulous and has lead me to pick up The Five Love Languages (mine is Quality Time). I’ve heard about the Five People You Meet in Heaven and will have to pick that one up as well!

  11. stacybuckeye permalink
    March 16, 2010 5:07 pm

    I really liked the Five Love Languages. My top two were not my husband’s top two. It was really eye opening and very helpful. Glad you liked it!

Trackbacks

  1. Shouting Gorilla Book Blog » Blog Archive » The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman
  2. The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman - SMS Nonfiction Book Reviews

I <3 Comments

